Enchilada Meatballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2011
I love that people write reviews!! I read through them and followed someones advice and used taco seasoning in the corn bread, so glad I did. I made these the night before my party to save time. I microwaved the meatballs for a few minutes then added them to the sauce to finish heating them up. I transferred them to a crock pot to keep them warm through the party. When I tasted the sauce it was a little too mild for me so I added what I had, buffalo wing sauce. I used about 3/4 cup and it added a nice zing! Everyone raved about them! I'll definately be making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2011
This was GREAT! I made the cornbread the night before (so I would cut down on the time) and left out the tomato sauce as others suggested (ended up using about 1 1/2 cans of enchilada sauce). I added some dried, minced onion as well. Oh, and definetly make sure you add the taco seasoning to the cornbread and the meat mixture. I had a box of the hamburger helper cheesy enchilada mix (I'm not sure why I had this because I am not a fan of the boxed dinners) so I just made the rice part and it was a great compliment to the meatballs. This was deemed a huge hit by the whole family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2011
No one complained about these, but I thought they were just ok. A nice change of pace from regular meatballs. We had this for dinner w/ rice & cornbread muffins. I might make again when in a bind.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2011
I followed the recipe exactly. No one in my family would eat them. I think the cornbread made them too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2011
I was skeptical of this recipe but though it was a creative twist, so glad I tried it because it was great. I followed others suggestions and after the meatballs were cooked through simmered them in just enchilada sauce, no tomato sauce. I served this over cilantro and tomato rice. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2011
Very good, as others suggested I, too, used all enchilada sauce (the Ten Minute Enchilada sauce from this site). I also added a diced small onion. Served this for dinner with black beans and rice and the remaining corn bread. Will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Caldwell, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2011
Huge hit at our home, kids and husband loved them. The only modification I made was that I omitted the tomato sauce and used 2 cans of enchilada sauce. I'll try this as a mini meatloaf next to keep prep time lower. Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2011
I loved this recipe for a tasty Tex-Mex alternative to traditional Italian meatballs. As others suggested I omitted the tomato sauce and used all enchilada sauce...half of the can in the meat mixture and the other half spooned over the cooked meatballs. I omitted the salt, added 2 tablespoons taco seasoning, a minced jalapeno pepper and 1/2 of a small onion finely chopped. I substituted crushed tortilla chips for the crumbled cornbread, and it gave the meatballs a "tamale" taste (also a great way to use up the "crumbs" of chips at the bottom of the bag). Next time I may use the entire can of enchilada sauce to coat the cooked meatballs as adding it to the meat mixture made forming the meatballs a bit sticky and messy. Served with Spanish style rice and tossed salad. Muy bien!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bryan, Texas, USA
Living In: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2011
delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Crestwood, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2011
Very tasty! Not bad on creating (time). The wife absolutely loved these...guess I'll be making these morw in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 112) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Swedish Meatballs

Learn how to make Swedish meatballs for appetizers or as a main dish.

Sweet and Sour Meatballs

These 5-star cocktail meatballs are simmered in a simple sweet and sour sauce.

Chef John's Ricotta Meatballs

See how to turn regular beef meatballs into a ricotta-filled sensation.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States