Enchilada Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 19, 2015
I'm not sure what went wrong here - I made this recipe as written, except I substituted some corn and tomatoes for the tempeh. Even using 8 tortillas instead of the 6, there was no way this would fill a 9x11 pan. Maybe an 8x8. I didn't even use the whole can of enchilada sauce, and the ingredients were swimming. After I pulled the "casserole" out of the oven, we decided it would almost be better to use it as a dip, since it was so gooey. Also the onions would have been better if they were precooked; they were still a little on the crunchy side. I used extra spices and my husband liked the flavor, but it wasn't exactly filling enough to be considered a full meal for everyone. Maybe another can of beans is called would help.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TaraR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2015
First time trying tempeh. I made it just as the recipe states. I used canned jalapeno instead. I choose this one as my friend is a vegetarian. It was very easy to make. Perfect for lunch. Usually I always add salsa and sometimes sour cream but not this time. I think the enchilada sauce made the difference. It was very yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2015
Made a vegan version (thanks for the recipe). Added one can of pinto and one can of black beans each. Added two bags of Morning Star beefless crumbles, substituted with one bag each of Go Veggie dairy-free cheddar and mozzarella cheeses, two boxes of El Paso Spanish-style rice, and sautéed the onion alone then added the beefless crumbes to the onions. Browned with two packets of taco seasoning. Added the fresh garlic to the beefless crumbles at the end of cooking. Also added one can of corn. Served with dairy-free sour cream and voila Bon appetite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2014
Excellent. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2014
Great recipe. Deleted tempeh. Added corn Sautéed onion with green chiles and a can of rotel with chile powder, cumin and red pepper flakes. Then added to the corn and beans. Served with tortilla chips and sour cream
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2014
Easy and Delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2014
Our family loved this casserole! It's quick, easy, & tastes GREAT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2013
I thought that this was pretty good. I made this with the easy enchilada sauce, also from this site. I did use ground turkey instead of tempeh, that I seasoned it with some cumin and chipotle pepper. Overall we all liked it but I felt like it needed more "substance". Corn chips might be good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lschreiber99

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2013
I did this with chicken instead of tempeh, and added mole sauce to the mixture. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2013
I also followed the recommendations in the other reviews!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lake Jackson, Texas, USA
Living In: Webster, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 125) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Enchilada Casserole

This cheesy vegetarian enchilada casserole stars black beans and tempeh.

Pantry Raid Chicken Enchilada Casserole

See how to make a quick-and-easy, cheesy Mexican casserole.

Easy Chile Chicken Enchilada Casserole

Try this quick and easy green chile chicken enchilada casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States