Enchilada Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2013
I thought that this was pretty good. I made this with the easy enchilada sauce, also from this site. I did use ground turkey instead of tempeh, that I seasoned it with some cumin and chipotle pepper. Overall we all liked it but I felt like it needed more "substance". Corn chips might be good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lschreiber99

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2013
I did this with chicken instead of tempeh, and added mole sauce to the mixture. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2013
I also followed the recommendations in the other reviews!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lake Jackson, Texas, USA
Living In: Webster, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2013
This gave me a lot of food! I will have casserole for a week! I used the black beans, about 1/3 of a chopped white onion, 1 can of diced tomatoes, and 1 can of chopped green chills. I added 2 boiled and cubed chicken breasts in the bean mixture that went along perfectly with the rest of the ingredients. I topped it with a ton of cheddar and the sliced black olives. It came out extra gooey which was fantastic. My boyfriend and I both gobbled it up! Highly recommended!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2013
Very good and healthy, and the first time I cooked with tempeh. I bought the three grain version, in the produce section. Used a 10 oz can of enchilada sauce, but it needs the 19 oz amount for moistness. I substituted shredded Red. Fat Mexican cheese to cut the fat, but used 2 cups. Delicious! Thanks for sharing a healthy Mexican recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2012
I made some modifications: Instead of green chile I used green bell pepper. Chopped up some cilantro and threw it in the mix. I don't know what tempeh is (nor is it available at my local food 4 less since I live in a predominantly Latino community) - replaced it with cotija cheese (it's a Mexican dry cheese and it's sold already crumbled in my local store). Boiled up a whole chicken with some garlic cloves and a bay leaf, let it cool, and shredded it. Added it to the layers. Instead of cheddar - used colby jack (the one that is mixed between Monterrey and the yellow kind). Last, I made it the night before the actual party and kept it in the fridge. Let them sit out of the fridge for about 20 minutes before popping in the oven the day of the event. Made the day go by smoothly and allowed me to focus on making fresh rice to go with it. It was a huge hit at my son's party last year and it has been requested again this year and I have given this recipe to a few friends already (Ohh my mother-in-law made it for family in Mexico and they raved about it too!). It's extremely easy and delicious. It can be made in large quantities and goes a long way (I made two large casseroles for 40 people each casserole)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2012
The recipe was ok as written. It got mixed reviews from three kids. I would definitely make it again but with a few modifications to suit our family. I think layering with cheese would be a good idea. I will also try to add some spices/taco seasoning/or additional sauce to filling as it turned out bland (and the tortillas absorbed all of the sauce.) I made sure to boil the tempeh for a few minutes before adding to the filling (to avoid it being bitter). Overall, we're glad we tried tempeh and like it over tofu.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2012
I only used half of the jalapeño because of kids, so it wasn't very spicy. We all loved it though. I used Jack cheese, which was good, I would use more cheese next time, but that's just me. I also would change the directions to say "finely chop onion." I had large chunks of crunchy onion. I would also add more beans, and substituted ground turkey for the tempeh.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2012
Used Morning Star Chicken Strips and added the corn and diced tomatoes. AMAZING. Will repeat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2012
Absolutely delicious! I'll definitely be making this again. Tempeh is as delicious as it is healthy; it's the perfect ingredient in a casserole like this. I took the advice offered below of sauteing the onions, garlic and pepper and topped the dish off with homemade salsa before serving. It turned out splendidly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by obituary mambo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lompoc, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 118) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Enchilada Casserole

This cheesy vegetarian enchilada casserole stars black beans and tempeh.

Pantry Raid Chicken Enchilada Casserole

See how to make a quick-and-easy, cheesy Mexican casserole.

Southwestern Fish Enchilada Casserole

Tilapia filets star in this award-winning enchilada casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States