Enchilada Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2000
My husband was wary of the tempeh at first, but he loved it! It also stores well to reheat as leftovers. A new standard for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2000
This was a GREAT!!! dish. I couldn't find any tempeh locally so I mushed up a package of tofu. I also added an 8 oz can of tomatoes. This is definitely a must try recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2001
This is a great and easy recipe!! My husband was all over it and our 2 year old loves it too. Our 7 year old liked the leftover extra 'goop' mixture on corn chips. Even tastes awesome as leftovers! This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2001
My family loved this recipe. My big "kid" hates spicy stuff so I just left out the jalapenos. We also tried it with green chile sauce instead of the red sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2001
I found that a total of 4 corn tortillas per layer coated the pan a bit better. Other then that the recipe was excellent. I got many compliments. Serve with a side of tortilla chips or tacos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2001
Easy!! I didn't have tempeh, so I just added an extra can of beans, and it was still wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2001
Made this dish twice. First time it was good, but a little dry. Second time I warmed up the corn tortillas and soaked them in warmed up enchildada sauce before layoring them in the casserole. Made a HUGE difference in keeping the moisture in. Had no left-overs the 2nd time! Didn't use tempeh or replace it with another ingredient & it tasted fine without it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2001
I had defrosted some tempeh and forgot to use it. Then I noticed it on the shelf a few days later...I didn't have the ingredients to make it the way I usually cook tempeh. So I came to this website looking for a new way to cook it with ingredients I already had on hand...to avoid going to the grocery store. I found this recipe and thought it sounded great! My husband loves corn tortillas too! So even though I had to end up going to the grocery store anyway to get the jalapenos and green chiles...it was totally worth it! This was sooo good. I do agree with some of the other reviews that say it needs more enchilada sauce b/c it tends to be dry the next night for leftovers...but other than that I give it a 10!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookingForDummies

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2001
Substitued corn for the tempeh. I also soaked the tortillas and it made a big difference. EXCELLENT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LARMIK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2001
This was a great recipe that my whole family liked. I used 2 chicken breasts instead of the tempeh, I sauted them first with a little enchilata sauce and the onion. I used "hot" enchilata sauce and only 1/2 a jalepeno and it was perfect! Really easy, not much clean up at all, I highly reccommend it and will make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENSULLI_212

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oak Harbor, Washington, USA
Living In: Great Falls, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 118) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Enchilada Casserole

This cheesy vegetarian enchilada casserole stars black beans and tempeh.

Pantry Raid Chicken Enchilada Casserole

See how to make a quick-and-easy, cheesy Mexican casserole.

Southwestern Fish Enchilada Casserole

Tilapia filets star in this award-winning enchilada casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States