Enchilada Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2002
Using previous reviews (thank you!)I eliminated the pepper and tempeh, added 1+ cup corn and 1+ cup diced tomatoes to the bean mixture, and refrigerated the casserole overnight. Baked it 40 minutes + 15 minutes and it was GREAT! Served to multi-generational group and all liked it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
96 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2003
I wish there were more than 5-stars- I would give it that! And note: I vegged for 7 years and HATE tempeh. I used it and you couldn't taste it at all. Note also that I used my own spices (cumin, bit of oregano, chile powder) and that gave it a bit more flavor, perhaps. Also- only cooked it uncovered for 5 minutes- not 15. I further varied recipe by cutting up tortillas and mixing all together, adding another can of [pinto] beans, a larger can of green chiles, no garlic or jalepeno (kids!), and topping with the onions (leaving half the top no onion/olives for-sigh- the kids again). I also generously greased my pan, spread some sauce around bottom, used the rest on top with listed amount of cheese and had no dry bits anywhere top or bottom. Served the adults with lettuce, tomato and sour cream on top. Excellent recipe- even scarfed up by my normally no Mexican food son. This will absolutely be a staple one in my house. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2003
I was a little afraid to make this at first. We have never tried tempeh, and I have heard mixed reviews on it. We are slowly switching to vegetarian eating, and have been sticking to "real" foods. Well, this was wonderful!!! My kids ate it so easily. They did not even know it was vegetarian! Even my husband liked it. We kept the tempeh in (contrary to other ratings) and found it was really quite tasty with the tempeh in. The only thing that I did not like was that it says it serves 8, and it really doesn't. We are a family of 2 adults and 5 children(4 that eat) and it was too little of an amount. In fact, it almost needed a little more filling to keep this dish in a 9x13....maybe it would be better suited for a 7x11? All in all, a wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2002
I also added corn, soaked the tortillas in the sauce and used ground beef. This was great, and I've made it several times. Thank you for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VICTORIAJ

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Charles, Illinois, USA
Living In: Klamath Falls, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2005
This is yummy! I recommend the following changes: 1) use Taco & Burrito-style Smart Ground® instead of tempeh, 2) add cumin, chili powder, oregano, and red pepper flakes, 3) cut tortillas into 1-inch squares then layer according to instructions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Huntsville, Alabama, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2001
Substitued corn for the tempeh. I also soaked the tortillas and it made a big difference. EXCELLENT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LARMIK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2003
This is a great base recipe you can vary to your tastes and come up with endless combinations. I used the tempeh, and since it was finely crumbled I barely even noticed it was there. I also added a can of corn, an anaheim chili, a packet of taco seasoning, and about 6oz. of salsa. I put half the cheese on after the first layer as someone suggested, and used 4 tortillas, ripping them to fit the pan, instead of the 3 per layer. I'll probably saute the onions and peppers next time as they were kind of crunchy. I will be making this over and over!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2011
This recipe has become a favorite in our house, especially with my 14year old vegetarian daughter. The last couple of times that I have made it I added about 2 tablespoons of chopped cilantro and the juice of half a lime to the bean mixture. I have also used about 9 tortillas instead of 6. Thanks for this great easy recipe which can be prepared ahead of time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2002
This was a hit with my family. The 3 of us finished off the entire dish in one sitting. I sauteed the onions, garlic, pepper, chili and beans in a bit of olive oil before adding to dish. Will be making this again and again and again!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
Made very similar to reviewer "Bailie". Used ground beef with my own flair of seasoning, as I am not vegetarian. Added black beans and refried beans to that mixture with some green sauce (my preference for enchiladas). Tore tortillas into pieces for layering, and topped each tortilla layer with more sauce, to prevent dryness. Topped with cheese and olives, and serve w/ sour cream & salsa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bonnie T

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Redlands, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 120) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Enchilada Casserole

This cheesy vegetarian enchilada casserole stars black beans and tempeh.

Pantry Raid Chicken Enchilada Casserole

See how to make a quick-and-easy, cheesy Mexican casserole.

Easy Chile Chicken Enchilada Casserole

Try this quick and easy green chile chicken enchilada casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States