Enchilada Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2004
I made this the traditional way. I added some enchilada sauce to the veggie mixture, spooned mixture into tortillas, rolled up and placed fold side down in baking dish. Pour some enchilada sauce (or salsa) over top and sprinkle with cheese. Bake about 30 min. until bubbly. (Use spatula to lift each enchilada from dish)Yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2004
This was good, but I would add more beans and a little less tempeh next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2004
Our family thought this was pretty bland and the enchilada sauce made it kind of bitter. (I really didn't like the flavour of the enchilada sauce - yuck!) Maybe it would be better with home made enchilada sauce. We liked the texture and will use the basic recipe and experiment with different spices and sauces in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nelson, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2004
This is a great way to get lots of protein -- tempeh, beans, and cheese. Very easy and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2003
Yum! I took the advice of other reviewers (thank you very much) and made a few changes. I cut the tortillas into strips then into one inch lengths and mixed them in with all the other ingredients and added the enchilada sauce to this. Made this very easy to prepare. I also used Morningstar griller crumbles. Because the onions are not presauteed, and I would not recommend doing it, next time I will dice them more fine so they are sure to be cooked through. We had this along with the Southwestern Succotash from the epicurious.com site. Gourmet Mexican meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peach822

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fernandina Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2003
I wish there were more than 5-stars- I would give it that! And note: I vegged for 7 years and HATE tempeh. I used it and you couldn't taste it at all. Note also that I used my own spices (cumin, bit of oregano, chile powder) and that gave it a bit more flavor, perhaps. Also- only cooked it uncovered for 5 minutes- not 15. I further varied recipe by cutting up tortillas and mixing all together, adding another can of [pinto] beans, a larger can of green chiles, no garlic or jalepeno (kids!), and topping with the onions (leaving half the top no onion/olives for-sigh- the kids again). I also generously greased my pan, spread some sauce around bottom, used the rest on top with listed amount of cheese and had no dry bits anywhere top or bottom. Served the adults with lettuce, tomato and sour cream on top. Excellent recipe- even scarfed up by my normally no Mexican food son. This will absolutely be a staple one in my house. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2003
This is a very easy recipe and very tasty. After trying it for the first time my wife and I decided it would be better next time if we added some corn and more jalapenos. Give it a try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2003
I love this recipe! Personally I think its much better w/ 8oz of burger-style crumbles rather than tempeh, though. The tempeh gave it a texture that didn't seem to work, but we tried again w/ Boca crumbles and YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2003
Exceptional! My husband was not very sure about the tempeh but he ate more than I. This is one that we will keep on our menu over and over! I added a can of rotel to the mix and used 2 cans of black beans. It filled the casserole dish and we even had leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2003
Very tasty. I used soy ground round instead of tempeh and pinto beans instead of black. I also only used 1/4 the amount of enchilada sauce called for b/c it is extremely salty and I don't really like the taste. I only used half the amount of cheese to make it less fattening. Next time I'd like to try corn and maybe some taco seasoning. My boyfriend really enjoyed this too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 122) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Enchilada Casserole

This cheesy vegetarian enchilada casserole stars black beans and tempeh.

Pantry Raid Chicken Enchilada Casserole

See how to make a quick-and-easy, cheesy Mexican casserole.

Easy Chile Chicken Enchilada Casserole

Try this quick and easy green chile chicken enchilada casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States