Enchilada Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: May 27, 2008
This was really good! Made for family potluck. I made some adjustements : used veggie ground "beef" instead of Tempeh, soy "cheese" and whole wheat tortillas. Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Katy, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2008
This was delicious but had way too much onion in it (and I like onions!). I used salsa instead of enchilada sauce, cream cheese instead of tempeh, omitted the olives and added a can of corn. I'll definitely make it again but will only use 1/2 an onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karin

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Ocala, Florida, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2008
This was a real winner... very easy. In fact I assembled it in the morning and popped it in the fridge. I was able to heat it up when my company arrived. I added more tortillas and an extra can of black beans. The non vegetarians of the group even loved the soy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2007
Okay, I changed this a bit, but it was still very good! I didn't use any meat and changed the beans to refried (all I had in the house) and added some cheese in the bean mix. The onions and olives still gave it nice texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2007
Changed this a bit to make it even better: 6 tortillas per layer; 4 oz cubed cream cheese instead of tempeh; black beans; and niblets canned corn, drained. An absolute favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2007
This is outstanding! It's my new favorite go-to recipe. It's easy to modify to your family's taste. I've also made it recently for several friends who have had new babies. I cook it for 30 minutes covered, and give it to them cold with the instructions to uncover and cook for 15 minutes or until heated. It's been a big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2007
Very easy and satisfying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2006
I used ground beef instead of the tempeh, and I also spice it up with some cumin, oregano, and chili powder. It wasn't great, but not bad, either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rachakno

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Priest River, Idaho, USA
Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2006
This was a very good recipe. I didn't make any changes to the recipe. It was very enjoyable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Columbia, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2006
I thought this was very tasty, with only a few minor adjustments necessary. I precooked the onion, jalapeno, and garlic, doubled the number of tortillas (using six per layer), and decreased the amount of cheese slightly. I also found it was done after less than ten minutes uncovered. The flavor is quite mild - perfect for kids and for those who don't like spicy-hot dishes. If you want a little more kick, try adding chili powder, cumin, and/or more peppers as previous reviewers suggested. I'm a big fan of tempeh, and thought it added a nice texture and subtle nutty flavor to the dish. I'll definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fiendishthingy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Monterrey, Nuevo León, Mexico

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 124) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Enchilada Casserole

This cheesy vegetarian enchilada casserole stars black beans and tempeh.

Pantry Raid Chicken Enchilada Casserole

See how to make a quick-and-easy, cheesy Mexican casserole.

Easy Chile Chicken Enchilada Casserole

Try this quick and easy green chile chicken enchilada casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States