Enchilada Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2007
Changed this a bit to make it even better: 6 tortillas per layer; 4 oz cubed cream cheese instead of tempeh; black beans; and niblets canned corn, drained. An absolute favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2007
This is outstanding! It's my new favorite go-to recipe. It's easy to modify to your family's taste. I've also made it recently for several friends who have had new babies. I cook it for 30 minutes covered, and give it to them cold with the instructions to uncover and cook for 15 minutes or until heated. It's been a big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2007
Very easy and satisfying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2006
I used ground beef instead of the tempeh, and I also spice it up with some cumin, oregano, and chili powder. It wasn't great, but not bad, either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rachakno

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Priest River, Idaho, USA
Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2006
This was a very good recipe. I didn't make any changes to the recipe. It was very enjoyable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Columbia, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2006
I thought this was very tasty, with only a few minor adjustments necessary. I precooked the onion, jalapeno, and garlic, doubled the number of tortillas (using six per layer), and decreased the amount of cheese slightly. I also found it was done after less than ten minutes uncovered. The flavor is quite mild - perfect for kids and for those who don't like spicy-hot dishes. If you want a little more kick, try adding chili powder, cumin, and/or more peppers as previous reviewers suggested. I'm a big fan of tempeh, and thought it added a nice texture and subtle nutty flavor to the dish. I'll definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fiendishthingy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Monterrey, Nuevo León, Mexico

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2006
This was great! I used soy ground round and large sized corn tortillas. This makes a lot, so it is great for a crowd.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SKOONUS

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2006
Loved this and will definitely make it again! I changed the recipe just a bit and added more corn tortillas, 6 on bottom and 4 in the center. I also used about 3/4 ground chuck in place of the tempeh. Cooked the onion, garlic (3 cloves) and green chiles with the meat before mixing into the drained beans and jalepeno. Also added an additional 1/2 can of enchilada sauce to the mixture and a sprinkle of chile powder on top of the cheese before baking. Just Great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2006
This recipe is not what I expected. It needs quite a few more tortillas as it seems to be mostly filling. I used morningstar farms burger crumbles, 3 jalapenos, a green pepper & added cumin & chili powder to the mix. It's very easy to make just needs more tortillas in my opinion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salem, Oregon, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2005
I used Boca crumbles instead of the tempeh, didn't use the jalapeno, added a bit of corn, chili powder, and cumin. I wasn't too impressed. It was okay and edible, but definitely not earth shattering. I think I'd rather use my own enchilada recipe (in my head) and just take the time to roll them. I won't be using this one again. It's kinda boring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 120) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Enchilada Casserole

This cheesy vegetarian enchilada casserole stars black beans and tempeh.

Pantry Raid Chicken Enchilada Casserole

See how to make a quick-and-easy, cheesy Mexican casserole.

Southwestern Fish Enchilada Casserole

Tilapia filets star in this award-winning enchilada casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States