Enchilada Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2009
I had never made an enchilada casserole before so I decided to try this one--since my regular enchiladas seem to turn into casserole anyway when I cut it. I followed the recipe as written, except I used faux ground beef (the Gimme Meat brand) and added six tortillas in each layer. It turned out very dry and all I could taste were the tortillas. I think I will stick to making regular enchiladas in the future. I will not make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Veggie Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Half Moon Bay, California, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2008
Very easy! i loved it and theres alot of room to improvise!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2008
Pretty good, a little mushy although I used a larger can of sauce. I think toasting the tortillas first either in oil or the oven might make a differnce. I didn't use tempeh but used a can of tuna. I added corn and green onion and garnished with sour cream. Next time I will saute the onions first because mine were a little too crunchy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2008
Delicious! I had to substitute, my grocery store was out of enchilada sauce. It was amazing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Villa Hills, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Bellevue, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Novajen
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2008
I loved it! I made a few changes after reading other folk's reviews. I added a half can of corn, 1 can pinto beans, and 4 oz light cream cheese instead of the tempeh. I used a lowfat mexican shredded cheese mix and I added a bit of taco seasoning. I'll probably spice it up even more next time. Interestingly, it was even better reheated. Fresh out of the oven I'd only give it a 4, but reheated was a 5. (It's my picture with the recipe now:-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Novajen

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Mankato, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2008
This was really good! Made for family potluck. I made some adjustements : used veggie ground "beef" instead of Tempeh, soy "cheese" and whole wheat tortillas. Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Katy, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2008
This was delicious but had way too much onion in it (and I like onions!). I used salsa instead of enchilada sauce, cream cheese instead of tempeh, omitted the olives and added a can of corn. I'll definitely make it again but will only use 1/2 an onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karin

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Ocala, Florida, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2008
This was a real winner... very easy. In fact I assembled it in the morning and popped it in the fridge. I was able to heat it up when my company arrived. I added more tortillas and an extra can of black beans. The non vegetarians of the group even loved the soy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2007
Okay, I changed this a bit, but it was still very good! I didn't use any meat and changed the beans to refried (all I had in the house) and added some cheese in the bean mix. The onions and olives still gave it nice texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2007
Changed this a bit to make it even better: 6 tortillas per layer; 4 oz cubed cream cheese instead of tempeh; black beans; and niblets canned corn, drained. An absolute favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 119) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Enchilada Casserole

This cheesy vegetarian enchilada casserole stars black beans and tempeh.

Pantry Raid Chicken Enchilada Casserole

See how to make a quick-and-easy, cheesy Mexican casserole.

Southwestern Fish Enchilada Casserole

Tilapia filets star in this award-winning enchilada casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States