Enchilada Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: May 14, 2009
This recipe is great if you love spicy things! Tempeh is a little hard to come by, so I substituted it with a mixture of corn chips and crumbled toast and it still worked out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2009
Love this recipe! I just tried it for my first time last night and I have to say thank you for posting this! I'm even eating it for lunch today. My boyfriend and I are huge fans of Mexican/Southwest recipes and I recently went vegetarian, so this dish appealed to both of us. I did make a few adjustments. I tore apart the corn tortillas and layered them, then poured green enchilada sauce on top instead of dipping them. I also did three layers (tortillas, enchilada sauce, bean mix, tortillas, enchilada sauce, bean mix, tortillas, enchilada sauce, cheese). I sauteed the onions (cut in long halfmoon slices), garlic, green chilies (I doubled them), and jalapeno (used a can of diced jalapenos, which tripled the serving size, but WILL NOT next time, way too spicy!!!) in a little olive oil before. I also added a 15 oz can of pinto beans to the mixture. Served with salsa and sour cream. So yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2009
I make this recipe quite often, but have altered it a bit. I add a small can of corn, leave out the tempeh and jalapeno and use Verde (Green) Enchilada sauce. As my husband says, "It doesn't look good, but it tastes good!" Even my picky kids gobble it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2009
This recipe was just okay. I normally do not like tempeh but since other reviewers said that in this the tempeh tasted different I thought I would try it. I still did not care for the tempeh in this recipe. If I made something similar in the future I would add something more to the layers such as some cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Daniel den Hoed

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spijkenisse, Zuid-Holland, Netherlands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2009
I had never made an enchilada casserole before so I decided to try this one--since my regular enchiladas seem to turn into casserole anyway when I cut it. I followed the recipe as written, except I used faux ground beef (the Gimme Meat brand) and added six tortillas in each layer. It turned out very dry and all I could taste were the tortillas. I think I will stick to making regular enchiladas in the future. I will not make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Veggie Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Half Moon Bay, California, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2008
Very easy! i loved it and theres alot of room to improvise!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2008
Pretty good, a little mushy although I used a larger can of sauce. I think toasting the tortillas first either in oil or the oven might make a differnce. I didn't use tempeh but used a can of tuna. I added corn and green onion and garnished with sour cream. Next time I will saute the onions first because mine were a little too crunchy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2008
Delicious! I had to substitute, my grocery store was out of enchilada sauce. It was amazing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Villa Hills, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Bellevue, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Novajen
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2008
I loved it! I made a few changes after reading other folk's reviews. I added a half can of corn, 1 can pinto beans, and 4 oz light cream cheese instead of the tempeh. I used a lowfat mexican shredded cheese mix and I added a bit of taco seasoning. I'll probably spice it up even more next time. Interestingly, it was even better reheated. Fresh out of the oven I'd only give it a 4, but reheated was a 5. (It's my picture with the recipe now:-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Novajen

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Mankato, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2008
This was really good! Made for family potluck. I made some adjustements : used veggie ground "beef" instead of Tempeh, soy "cheese" and whole wheat tortillas. Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Katy, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 123) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Enchilada Casserole

This cheesy vegetarian enchilada casserole stars black beans and tempeh.

Pantry Raid Chicken Enchilada Casserole

See how to make a quick-and-easy, cheesy Mexican casserole.

Easy Chile Chicken Enchilada Casserole

Try this quick and easy green chile chicken enchilada casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States