Enchilada Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2010
This was great except that there too many onions--i love onions, but seriously, it was to much crunchy onions. If i make this again I will do less onions and chop them VERY well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2010
I am new to this whole Vegan thing. We thought it was good. But not overly excited about eating it. Maybe with time we'll get more accustomed to eating this sort of thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TN Monkeymomma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Carmel, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2010
I liked the idea of this casserole and really, it turned out okay. I didn't use tempeh and did throw in a can of corn. Per the suggestion of another reviewer, I served it with fresh tomatoes, shredded lettuce, and sour cream, which was tasty. My problems: Am I the only person who finds this quite heavy on the onions? Sheesh! That's all I could smell while it was baking and now that I"m done eating it, onion is all I can taste. Next time I will do only half an onion, if that. I also felt like it needed salt, but that could be due to my choice of enchilada sauce (I used the "Red Enchilada Sauce" from this site, which is awesome, by the way). I will probably make this again (with salt and less onion) but I think I'm still in search of a great vegetarian enchilada.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: Reston, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2009
Husband thinks this is excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2009
Certainly not bad, but a bit bland. Bonus point for being adaptable and surreptitiously vegetarian. I feared the tempeh before trying it, but that turned out to be pretty innocuous. It just seemed like rice in the background; no one noticed it. If I make this again, I'll add something to liven it up--some seasoning, corn, tomatoes, extra cheese inside the casserole...?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Evansville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2009
This was so easy to put together and it was my first experience with tempeh. I liked it! I added three fresh tomatoes, chopped, as well as a tablespoon or so of Mexican Seasoning that was salt free. No need to add any salt to this dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2009
This recipe made about 2 servings and I did not think it had anything going for it. Beans and tempeh is a strange mixture but as a vegetarian I tried it. This casserole tasted hot and other than that not much taste. Maybe it is just me but I am a big big fan of enchiladas and this was a big disappointment. Next time I think I will try something else with the beans. Actually I think I will look for another enchilada recipe entirely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2009
This recipe is great if you love spicy things! Tempeh is a little hard to come by, so I substituted it with a mixture of corn chips and crumbled toast and it still worked out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2009
Love this recipe! I just tried it for my first time last night and I have to say thank you for posting this! I'm even eating it for lunch today. My boyfriend and I are huge fans of Mexican/Southwest recipes and I recently went vegetarian, so this dish appealed to both of us. I did make a few adjustments. I tore apart the corn tortillas and layered them, then poured green enchilada sauce on top instead of dipping them. I also did three layers (tortillas, enchilada sauce, bean mix, tortillas, enchilada sauce, bean mix, tortillas, enchilada sauce, cheese). I sauteed the onions (cut in long halfmoon slices), garlic, green chilies (I doubled them), and jalapeno (used a can of diced jalapenos, which tripled the serving size, but WILL NOT next time, way too spicy!!!) in a little olive oil before. I also added a 15 oz can of pinto beans to the mixture. Served with salsa and sour cream. So yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2009
I make this recipe quite often, but have altered it a bit. I add a small can of corn, leave out the tempeh and jalapeno and use Verde (Green) Enchilada sauce. As my husband says, "It doesn't look good, but it tastes good!" Even my picky kids gobble it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 120) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Enchilada Casserole

This cheesy vegetarian enchilada casserole stars black beans and tempeh.

Pantry Raid Chicken Enchilada Casserole

See how to make a quick-and-easy, cheesy Mexican casserole.

Easy Chile Chicken Enchilada Casserole

Try this quick and easy green chile chicken enchilada casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States