Enchilada Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2012
Absolutely delicious! I'll definitely be making this again. Tempeh is as delicious as it is healthy; it's the perfect ingredient in a casserole like this. I took the advice offered below of sauteing the onions, garlic and pepper and topped the dish off with homemade salsa before serving. It turned out splendidly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by obituary mambo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lompoc, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2012
I added a can of corn and made it in a smaller casserole since other reviews said it was kind of a stretch to fill the 9x13. Because I did that I ended up with 3 layers instead of just 2. Very yummy and it reheats well. I also added about a teaspoon of cayenne, chili power and cumin. AND you can't even taste the tempeh, don't leave it out!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2012
Fantastic! I followed the recipe with the following modifications or additions. I didn't want to dice a jalapeno myself, so I used canned jalapeno. I tore up the corn tortillas in quarters so it would be easier to dish up and went with Mexican blend cheese. Minor, minor changes. And finally I added about 2 tbsp chipotle seasoning, 1 tsp garlic pepper, and 1/2 tsp chili powder. It was delicious, spicy, and awesomely flavorful! I was a bit afraid of the tempeh, but it was good. My husband had no idea there was soy in there until I told him. I recommend using a large mixing bowl to stir it all together. A medium bowl wasn't quite big enough. I love the recipe and will make it again soon. I already added it to my hard copy recipe book. This is a keeper! It was such a nice change not to have to precook meat for a dish like this. We didn't miss it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2012
This was a good, meatless meal! Quick to put together and very satisfying, even the hubs liked it! I had to skip the tempeh because he wouldn't have touched it. Instead I added a can of drained corn and diced tomatoes with garlic and onion. This was a little soupy but that was probably from my changes. We'll be having this again, and I'll continue to tinker with it. Serve with light sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookntaste

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: East Greenville, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2011
It was ok. A good base to start playing around with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2011
I was really looking forward to this meal and was sorely disappointed. The only thing I did differently was that I added no olives. I don't know what it was, but the taste was just bad. I will throw the rest away.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2011
this was pretty good, it was much better the day AFTER I made it. I added some sour cream too. Great dish for leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wasilla, Alaska, USA
Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2011
This recipe has become a favorite in our house, especially with my 14year old vegetarian daughter. The last couple of times that I have made it I added about 2 tablespoons of chopped cilantro and the juice of half a lime to the bean mixture. I have also used about 9 tortillas instead of 6. Thanks for this great easy recipe which can be prepared ahead of time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2011
I liked this alot, I did add a can of petite diced tomatoes to the bean mixture and some spices. Next time I think I will do all the same except will use corn tortilla's. All in all I really enjoyed this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2011
it looks funny but i dont know if it tast good i am hunngry i am writein random stuff k
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 119) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Enchilada Casserole

This cheesy vegetarian enchilada casserole stars black beans and tempeh.

Pantry Raid Chicken Enchilada Casserole

See how to make a quick-and-easy, cheesy Mexican casserole.

Southwestern Fish Enchilada Casserole

Tilapia filets star in this award-winning enchilada casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States