Enchilada Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2013
This gave me a lot of food! I will have casserole for a week! I used the black beans, about 1/3 of a chopped white onion, 1 can of diced tomatoes, and 1 can of chopped green chills. I added 2 boiled and cubed chicken breasts in the bean mixture that went along perfectly with the rest of the ingredients. I topped it with a ton of cheddar and the sliced black olives. It came out extra gooey which was fantastic. My boyfriend and I both gobbled it up! Highly recommended!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Niki Lohr

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2013
Very good and healthy, and the first time I cooked with tempeh. I bought the three grain version, in the produce section. Used a 10 oz can of enchilada sauce, but it needs the 19 oz amount for moistness. I substituted shredded Red. Fat Mexican cheese to cut the fat, but used 2 cups. Delicious! Thanks for sharing a healthy Mexican recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2012
I made some modifications: Instead of green chile I used green bell pepper. Chopped up some cilantro and threw it in the mix. I don't know what tempeh is (nor is it available at my local food 4 less since I live in a predominantly Latino community) - replaced it with cotija cheese (it's a Mexican dry cheese and it's sold already crumbled in my local store). Boiled up a whole chicken with some garlic cloves and a bay leaf, let it cool, and shredded it. Added it to the layers. Instead of cheddar - used colby jack (the one that is mixed between Monterrey and the yellow kind). Last, I made it the night before the actual party and kept it in the fridge. Let them sit out of the fridge for about 20 minutes before popping in the oven the day of the event. Made the day go by smoothly and allowed me to focus on making fresh rice to go with it. It was a huge hit at my son's party last year and it has been requested again this year and I have given this recipe to a few friends already (Ohh my mother-in-law made it for family in Mexico and they raved about it too!). It's extremely easy and delicious. It can be made in large quantities and goes a long way (I made two large casseroles for 40 people each casserole)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2012
The recipe was ok as written. It got mixed reviews from three kids. I would definitely make it again but with a few modifications to suit our family. I think layering with cheese would be a good idea. I will also try to add some spices/taco seasoning/or additional sauce to filling as it turned out bland (and the tortillas absorbed all of the sauce.) I made sure to boil the tempeh for a few minutes before adding to the filling (to avoid it being bitter). Overall, we're glad we tried tempeh and like it over tofu.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2012
I only used half of the jalapeño because of kids, so it wasn't very spicy. We all loved it though. I used Jack cheese, which was good, I would use more cheese next time, but that's just me. I also would change the directions to say "finely chop onion." I had large chunks of crunchy onion. I would also add more beans, and substituted ground turkey for the tempeh.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2012
Used Morning Star Chicken Strips and added the corn and diced tomatoes. AMAZING. Will repeat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2012
Absolutely delicious! I'll definitely be making this again. Tempeh is as delicious as it is healthy; it's the perfect ingredient in a casserole like this. I took the advice offered below of sauteing the onions, garlic and pepper and topped the dish off with homemade salsa before serving. It turned out splendidly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by obituary mambo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lompoc, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2012
I added a can of corn and made it in a smaller casserole since other reviews said it was kind of a stretch to fill the 9x13. Because I did that I ended up with 3 layers instead of just 2. Very yummy and it reheats well. I also added about a teaspoon of cayenne, chili power and cumin. AND you can't even taste the tempeh, don't leave it out!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2012
Fantastic! I followed the recipe with the following modifications or additions. I didn't want to dice a jalapeno myself, so I used canned jalapeno. I tore up the corn tortillas in quarters so it would be easier to dish up and went with Mexican blend cheese. Minor, minor changes. And finally I added about 2 tbsp chipotle seasoning, 1 tsp garlic pepper, and 1/2 tsp chili powder. It was delicious, spicy, and awesomely flavorful! I was a bit afraid of the tempeh, but it was good. My husband had no idea there was soy in there until I told him. I recommend using a large mixing bowl to stir it all together. A medium bowl wasn't quite big enough. I love the recipe and will make it again soon. I already added it to my hard copy recipe book. This is a keeper! It was such a nice change not to have to precook meat for a dish like this. We didn't miss it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2012
This was a good, meatless meal! Quick to put together and very satisfying, even the hubs liked it! I had to skip the tempeh because he wouldn't have touched it. Instead I added a can of drained corn and diced tomatoes with garlic and onion. This was a little soupy but that was probably from my changes. We'll be having this again, and I'll continue to tinker with it. Serve with light sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookntaste

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: East Greenville, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 125) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Enchilada Casserole

This cheesy vegetarian enchilada casserole stars black beans and tempeh.

Pantry Raid Chicken Enchilada Casserole

See how to make a quick-and-easy, cheesy Mexican casserole.

Easy Chile Chicken Enchilada Casserole

Try this quick and easy green chile chicken enchilada casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States