Enchilada Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2002
Even my picky 6 and 10 year old ask for seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2002
This casserole turned out better than I had hoped. My husband's pretty picky and he loved it. I followed the advice of some of the reviewers who soaked the tortillas in the enchilada sauce. It was even better the next day. The tortillas had softened and the taste was similar to a tamale. Have added this recipe to my recipe book and will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2001
This was a great recipe that my whole family liked. I used 2 chicken breasts instead of the tempeh, I sauted them first with a little enchilata sauce and the onion. I used "hot" enchilata sauce and only 1/2 a jalepeno and it was perfect! Really easy, not much clean up at all, I highly reccommend it and will make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENSULLI_212

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oak Harbor, Washington, USA
Living In: Great Falls, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2001
Substitued corn for the tempeh. I also soaked the tortillas and it made a big difference. EXCELLENT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LARMIK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2001
I had defrosted some tempeh and forgot to use it. Then I noticed it on the shelf a few days later...I didn't have the ingredients to make it the way I usually cook tempeh. So I came to this website looking for a new way to cook it with ingredients I already had on hand...to avoid going to the grocery store. I found this recipe and thought it sounded great! My husband loves corn tortillas too! So even though I had to end up going to the grocery store anyway to get the jalapenos and green chiles...it was totally worth it! This was sooo good. I do agree with some of the other reviews that say it needs more enchilada sauce b/c it tends to be dry the next night for leftovers...but other than that I give it a 10!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookingForDummies

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2001
I substituted refried black beans which worked well. I didn't end up with 7 layers but still enjoyed the result. This even better reheated since the tortillas soften and the flavors blend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2001
This is a great way to use tempeh. I soaked the tortillas in the enchilada sauce also. My one suggestion would be to saute the onions first. I didn't saute them first and the flavor was a bit overwhelming. Otherwise, great dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2001
Made this dish twice. First time it was good, but a little dry. Second time I warmed up the corn tortillas and soaked them in warmed up enchildada sauce before layoring them in the casserole. Made a HUGE difference in keeping the moisture in. Had no left-overs the 2nd time! Didn't use tempeh or replace it with another ingredient & it tasted fine without it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2001
Easy!! I didn't have tempeh, so I just added an extra can of beans, and it was still wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2001
I found that a total of 4 corn tortillas per layer coated the pan a bit better. Other then that the recipe was excellent. I got many compliments. Serve with a side of tortilla chips or tacos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 125) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Enchilada Casserole

This cheesy vegetarian enchilada casserole stars black beans and tempeh.

Pantry Raid Chicken Enchilada Casserole

See how to make a quick-and-easy, cheesy Mexican casserole.

Easy Chile Chicken Enchilada Casserole

Try this quick and easy green chile chicken enchilada casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States