Enchilada Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2002
I gave this receipe 4 stars only becuase the tempeh does not belong in this dish. I would recommend using a meatless ground beef (soy crumbles) instead. The flavor and texture of the tempeh just do not go well with this dish, but I think by marinating the tempeh in enchalida sauce the texture could be improved. Still, I really enjoyed this dish and would recommend it to others.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by www.GlutenReport.com

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2002
Very easy and delicious. I served it with tortilla chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2002
This was awesome! I made it for friends, we all loved it. I added black beans and corn to the mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2002
I also added corn, soaked the tortillas in the sauce and used ground beef. This was great, and I've made it several times. Thank you for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VICTORIAJ

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Charles, Illinois, USA
Living In: Klamath Falls, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2002
Using previous reviews (thank you!)I eliminated the pepper and tempeh, added 1+ cup corn and 1+ cup diced tomatoes to the bean mixture, and refrigerated the casserole overnight. Baked it 40 minutes + 15 minutes and it was GREAT! Served to multi-generational group and all liked it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
99 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2002
This was a hit with my family. The 3 of us finished off the entire dish in one sitting. I sauteed the onions, garlic, pepper, chili and beans in a bit of olive oil before adding to dish. Will be making this again and again and again!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2002
I actually liked this recipe better as leftovers, but it was very good overall. The brand of enchilada sauce I used was a little sweet for my liking, but I will definitely try this again with some different sauce. I made it cheese-less for a vegan version... and topped it with Tofutti brand non-dairy sour cream. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2002
Even my picky 6 and 10 year old ask for seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2002
This casserole turned out better than I had hoped. My husband's pretty picky and he loved it. I followed the advice of some of the reviewers who soaked the tortillas in the enchilada sauce. It was even better the next day. The tortillas had softened and the taste was similar to a tamale. Have added this recipe to my recipe book and will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2001
This was a great recipe that my whole family liked. I used 2 chicken breasts instead of the tempeh, I sauted them first with a little enchilata sauce and the onion. I used "hot" enchilata sauce and only 1/2 a jalepeno and it was perfect! Really easy, not much clean up at all, I highly reccommend it and will make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENSULLI_212

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oak Harbor, Washington, USA
Living In: Great Falls, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 122) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Enchilada Casserole

This cheesy vegetarian enchilada casserole stars black beans and tempeh.

Pantry Raid Chicken Enchilada Casserole

See how to make a quick-and-easy, cheesy Mexican casserole.

Easy Chile Chicken Enchilada Casserole

Try this quick and easy green chile chicken enchilada casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States