Enchilada Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2003
I was a little afraid to make this at first. We have never tried tempeh, and I have heard mixed reviews on it. We are slowly switching to vegetarian eating, and have been sticking to "real" foods. Well, this was wonderful!!! My kids ate it so easily. They did not even know it was vegetarian! Even my husband liked it. We kept the tempeh in (contrary to other ratings) and found it was really quite tasty with the tempeh in. The only thing that I did not like was that it says it serves 8, and it really doesn't. We are a family of 2 adults and 5 children(4 that eat) and it was too little of an amount. In fact, it almost needed a little more filling to keep this dish in a 9x13....maybe it would be better suited for a 7x11? All in all, a wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2003
I omitted the tempeh, added corn and a can of spicy diced tomatoes. It was easy and delicious - my husband ranked it as one of his all time favorites. I also used flour tortillas, simply because I had them on hand, but I think the corn would add a better flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2003
This was really good and easy to make alot of modifications. I used pinto beans instead of black beans and omitted the tempeh and jalepenos and it was delicious and easy. Sour cream and guacamole are nice compliments to this spicy dish. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2002
I gave this receipe 4 stars only becuase the tempeh does not belong in this dish. I would recommend using a meatless ground beef (soy crumbles) instead. The flavor and texture of the tempeh just do not go well with this dish, but I think by marinating the tempeh in enchalida sauce the texture could be improved. Still, I really enjoyed this dish and would recommend it to others.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by www.GlutenReport.com

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2002
Very easy and delicious. I served it with tortilla chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2002
This was awesome! I made it for friends, we all loved it. I added black beans and corn to the mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2002
I also added corn, soaked the tortillas in the sauce and used ground beef. This was great, and I've made it several times. Thank you for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VICTORIAJ

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Charles, Illinois, USA
Living In: Klamath Falls, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2002
Using previous reviews (thank you!)I eliminated the pepper and tempeh, added 1+ cup corn and 1+ cup diced tomatoes to the bean mixture, and refrigerated the casserole overnight. Baked it 40 minutes + 15 minutes and it was GREAT! Served to multi-generational group and all liked it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
100 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2002
This was a hit with my family. The 3 of us finished off the entire dish in one sitting. I sauteed the onions, garlic, pepper, chili and beans in a bit of olive oil before adding to dish. Will be making this again and again and again!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2002
I actually liked this recipe better as leftovers, but it was very good overall. The brand of enchilada sauce I used was a little sweet for my liking, but I will definitely try this again with some different sauce. I made it cheese-less for a vegan version... and topped it with Tofutti brand non-dairy sour cream. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 125) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Enchilada Casserole

This cheesy vegetarian enchilada casserole stars black beans and tempeh.

Pantry Raid Chicken Enchilada Casserole

See how to make a quick-and-easy, cheesy Mexican casserole.

Easy Chile Chicken Enchilada Casserole

Try this quick and easy green chile chicken enchilada casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States