Enchilada Casserole III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: May 14, 2010
This wasn't near as good as I expected it to be. First of all, a couple of shortcuts could have been made--instead of substituting tomato paste and water in the enchilada mix, tomato sauce would have been fine. For that matter, canned enchilada sauce would have been fine. Dipping the tortillas was a bit messy too. By the second layer, I just poured the enchilada sauce on top. If I were to make these again, I would double the enchilada sauce, because the casserole was a little drier than I would have liked. Otherwise, it was good topped with lettuce, tomatoes, and sour cream. My picky boys liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CN29URSERY

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2010
This is a great recipe! You can make this with whatever you have on hand. I generally omit the enchilada sauce and beans (serve it on the side for those who want to add it)and tomato paste (doesn't need it) due to preference in my house; I usually cook 1-2 lbs of ground beef and one small onion, then mix in taco seasoning as per package directions. I make a cup of Minute Rice and add it to my hamburger mixture. Rice is so great in this! It also bulks up the hamburger mixture and extends it out a bit for more layers. I layer mixture on bottom, cheese, tortillas (flour in our house--yes I know it's no longer an enchilada--its now a burrito) then repeat. Top layer gets an extra handful of cheesy goodness! Cover with foil, heat through and serve with black olives, salsa, enchilada sauce, guacamole, sour cream....endless possibilities!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sctaylor25
Home Town: Jefferson City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Fort Smith, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2010
Just okay.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susabelle
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2010
I subbed ground venison for ground beef. I needed to use the venison, but it didn't work in this dish. However, aside from the deer, the rest of the dish was quite good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jennifer1512

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2010
Very easy to put together...I use homemade enchilada sauce and add taco seasoning to the ground beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pixiestix

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2010
Great recipe. I used canned enchilada sauce like many other reviewers and worked fine. Did not care for it reheated though. Too mushy and dry when reheated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by foodlovers

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2010
I'm substituting TVP (a vegetarian meat substitute) for ground beef, tofu for half of the cheese (tastes like ricotta here, less fat, lots of protein) and throwing in a layer of chopped mixed veggies and maybe 1/2 to 3/4 cup cooked quinoa. Maybe a dollop of plain yogurt instead of sour cream (sounds gross, but is surprisingly the same flavor). Couple slices of avocado could accompany nicely. And black olives. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2010
I liked this recipe, but will not fix it again. It just wasn't what I had hoped it would be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peggy Fugate

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Oxford, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2010
Very good. I took the advice of others and used black beans instead of refried beans and I mixed them with some white rice and sauteed green peppers. This was a light mixture and the black beans maintained their integrity, (did not get mushy)I browned the beef with a chopped onion. I then began the layers with rice and bean mixture on the bottom over the tortillas then the beef then the cheese and I repeated it as per the recipe. I used taco seasoning packets with the tomato paste (coudn't find enchilada sauce) and added onion powder and salt to the rice and beans. Adding a layer of rice and black beans gave the dish more body and it held together nicely and was not dry. It became sort of a Mexican Lasagna. My son loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2010
I added 2 Tbsp of 'Taco Seasoning I' mix to the meat mixture and also a 14 oz. can of diced tomatoes. It made a lot, and the leftovers disappeared quickly. I think next time I will add a can of black beans instead of the refried, as per one reviewer, just to give it a nicer presentation. Thanks for this recipe - we really enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cdagirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 360) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Enchilada Casserole

This cheesy vegetarian enchilada casserole stars black beans and tempeh.

Easy Chile Chicken Enchilada Casserole

Try this quick and easy green chile chicken enchilada casserole.

Southwestern Fish Enchilada Casserole

Tilapia filets star in this award-winning enchilada casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States