Enchilada Casserole III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: May 4, 2011
I used about 1 1/4 lbs ground beef, browned, added taco seasoning, 1/2 can diced tomatoes and about 3/4 cup Pace Picante sauce and 1 can refried beans and 1/2 of a very large onion put in late so it would stay somewhat crispy for the meat. I had 6 1/4" corn tortillas. I used 1 can Old El Paso Mild Enchilada Sauce. Used my deep white pyrex dish and 1 1/2 of the tortillas covered the bottom. I did 3 layers of the tortillas each dipped in sauce before I did the first layer of meat (so 4 1/2 tortillas covered the bottom, then I used 1/4 of the meat, then 1 cup cheese, then 4 1/2 more tortillas (making 3 layers of tortilla) 1/4 of the meat 1 more cup cheese. Then I just did 3 tortillas (making 2 layers of tortilla) and poured the rest of the can of sauce over and then another cup of cheese. Next time use a full can of refried beans and maybe a little more salsa?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2011
I did this recipe and was very pleased with it just as it was written. I may make some slight changes to suit my own compression ratio but that's what we all do. I have to agree with CatGoverness when she writes about people should not rate the recipe after they decided to make their own changes first. Do it as written, then rate it. Then modify it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rokyrakune
Home Town: Camino, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2011
Made as directions listed and said to do. Not anything I'd make again. Noticed that most pictures for this recipe have added ingredients. Very dry as is. So use this as a base and add to your liking within the layers. My family thought this to be very dry. If I was to make this again, I'd use onions while browning the meat and either salsa or taco sauce to the enchilada sauce mix. To me, the tomato paste and water was not enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shelley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Swartz Creek, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2011
Sooo very good! I wouldn't change a thing and i didn't. Really delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2011
I just made this for dinner tonight. I loved it! My family on the other hand would have preferred it cooked a bit longer. The only change I made is that I didn't have any hamburger on hand, and so I substituted steak instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Beaverton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Banks, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2011
Easy and delicious casserole. Everyone in my family wants me to make it all the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Pearland, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2011
It was good! I used a milder enchilada sauce and my 14 month old and 3 year old liked it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
Yum! Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2011
WELL... this was good but needs some tweeking! I will season the meat next time with taco seasoning, and add green onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by profit414

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Redford, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2011
Okay, not the best I've had and I would definitely tweak it to suit your pallet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 366) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Enchilada Casserole

This cheesy vegetarian enchilada casserole stars black beans and tempeh.

Easy Chile Chicken Enchilada Casserole

Try this quick and easy green chile chicken enchilada casserole.

Southwestern Fish Enchilada Casserole

Tilapia filets star in this award-winning enchilada casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States