Enchilada Casserole III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: May 14, 2009
This was awesome!! I made it for my boyfriend and he couldn't get enough of it! I took some other peoples advice and seasoned the meat with taco seasoning. Made it super tasty! I also used canned enchilada sauce (Get 2 cans!! You will want it!!) I sauteed mushrooms with the meat and then stirred diced tomatoes and black olives into the meat mixture right before layering it in the casserole dish. It gave it a nice texture and some extra flavor. I didn't try the original recipe before playing with it but I certainly give this one 5 stars with a few "tweaks"!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2009
this turned out very good. I made spanish rice and placed in bottom of a 9x13 then followed this recipe layering on top of the rice. It made a huge 1 dish dinner that everyone gobbled up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stacy32670

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Willis, Texas, USA
Living In: Dayton, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2009
Tasty gets 4 stars, .. BUT... enchilada sauce definitely needs doubling (ran out and had to send someone to the store, delaying dinner with other "timed" dishes I planned to serve this with). Would be easier to buy a couple of large jars of enchilada sauce and call it a day. Also, there is confusion on the cook time per recipe as printed. Header says cook time is 35 minutes, instructions say cook 20 minutes then let sit for 5. 15 minutes can be a BIG difference in many dishes. Split the difference and cooked for 30 minutes. Rated 3 stars for recipe inconsistencies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clinton, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Kingwood, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2009
The addition of refried beans was a nice twist, but this recipe just didn't do it for us. Thanks for the submission.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Norwell, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2009
This casserole is in our family's favorite rotation... yum. I substituted the ground beef with "Morningstar Farms" veggie crumbles and it was superb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by missdrea
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2009
this was really good. i had only used black beans to make enchilada casserole before this recipe. i loved the refried beans. i used less cheese, added black olives, served it on a bed of shredded lettuce, and topped it off with diced tomatoes. my husband really liked it also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missdrea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2009
Very good and easy to make. I also used black beans. I found it easier to "paint" the sauce onto the tortillas with a silicon brush rather than dip them in the thick sauce. This recipe is a keeper for us!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Narnia_girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2009
this was a HUGE HIT with my guys! I just should have made more was the only complaint I got! I will absolutely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Suwanee, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2009
I found this recipe while I was trying to figure out what to do with an extra pound and a half of ground turkey that I had after making tacos the night before (I accidentally defrosted the whole 3lb package!) I used a can of enchilada sauce instead of the powdered mix, and because I already cooked the ground meat with taco seasoning I just added the onion powder and garlic salt when I added the sauce. Definitely a keeper :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KChristy927

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Staten Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2009
I tried this recipe last week and followed it just as the directions stated. It was great and my husband loved it! He took the leftovers for lunch the following day. The only thing I would suggest is doubling the sauce so that there is more than enough (I did not have enough so I had to use regular tomato sauce for the remaining tortillas because that is all I had). My husband also said that next time we should add black olives and green onions, so we will try that next time. Great recipe... it's a keeper in our home!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 364) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Enchilada Casserole

This cheesy vegetarian enchilada casserole stars black beans and tempeh.

Easy Chile Chicken Enchilada Casserole

Try this quick and easy green chile chicken enchilada casserole.

Southwestern Fish Enchilada Casserole

Tilapia filets star in this award-winning enchilada casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States