Enchilada Casserole III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2010
Very good. I took the advice of others and used black beans instead of refried beans and I mixed them with some white rice and sauteed green peppers. This was a light mixture and the black beans maintained their integrity, (did not get mushy)I browned the beef with a chopped onion. I then began the layers with rice and bean mixture on the bottom over the tortillas then the beef then the cheese and I repeated it as per the recipe. I used taco seasoning packets with the tomato paste (coudn't find enchilada sauce) and added onion powder and salt to the rice and beans. Adding a layer of rice and black beans gave the dish more body and it held together nicely and was not dry. It became sort of a Mexican Lasagna. My son loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2010
I added 2 Tbsp of 'Taco Seasoning I' mix to the meat mixture and also a 14 oz. can of diced tomatoes. It made a lot, and the leftovers disappeared quickly. I think next time I will add a can of black beans instead of the refried, as per one reviewer, just to give it a nicer presentation. Thanks for this recipe - we really enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cdagirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2010
Made this for the family and they loved it! Easy recipe and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2010
Husband and I both loved this. I used canned enchilada sauce instead of the first three ingredients. I also used taco seasoning with the ground beef to give it more flavor, and used black beans (drained but not rinsed) instead of refried beans. I served it with sour cream, Chalula sauce, and sliced jalapenos on top. This will be kept in the recipe book for our household. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
FABULOUS! I made some changes like others. I browned the hamburger, then put taco seasoning on it, as well as the garlic powder, and I exchanged the onion powder for onion flakes. Doubled the cheese like others suggested, and I got RAVE reviews, especially from my husband, who is EXTREMELY picky. :) LOVED IT!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2009
Very basic, but delicious recipe. I felt it was missing just a little extra something, but would still make it again just as written. Easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mom22GreatKids

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Living In: Newburgh, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2009
I used enchilada sauce in a jar that others suggested and I only used 1 lb. of ground beef. Great recipe, will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pine Bluff, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Springdale, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2009
Loved the recipe! Thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2009
This recipe is AWESOME!!! I used suggestions from other users and added diced tomato. I also used fajita seasoning instead of taco seasoning (my husband's preference). Everyone ate it, even my picky oldest daughter. It made 2 whole casseroles, and there is enough left over from tonight for another meal. Thank you so much!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portsmouth, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2009
Pretty good! I couldn't find the dry enchilada sauce mix so I went with other reviewer's suggestions for how to proceed and it worked out well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by parsonsperson

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 362) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Enchilada Casserole

This cheesy vegetarian enchilada casserole stars black beans and tempeh.

Easy Chile Chicken Enchilada Casserole

Try this quick and easy green chile chicken enchilada casserole.

Southwestern Fish Enchilada Casserole

Tilapia filets star in this award-winning enchilada casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States