Enchilada Casserole II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2008
We really enjoyed this recipe. I added a can of black beans, a can of corn, and half a cup of water. I served with plenty of sour cream. I also used more tortillas then it called for. My son loved this. I split the recipe and froze the other half. We can't wait to eat it again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Boerne, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2008
O.k., I changed it a bit: add 1 can diced tomatos, 1 small can diced chili peppers (mild), 1 can beef broth and simmer at the end to reduce back to meatier consistency. Double the spices (trust), add black pepper to taste. I also used corn tortillas instead, softened in oil for just a second or two and I used more cheese. Yummy!! I will definately make this again and soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2008
Very nice recipe...a bit on the saucy side for our taste But overall easy to make and very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Mreen Holmes
Home Town: Lake Oswego, Oregon, USA
Living In: Sherwood, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2008
We loved this recipe. We keep kosher so sprinkling the cheese on top would not work for us. I made a layer of beans, then a layer of the meat sauce, then the tortillas, etc. On the top tortilla I poured salsa and baked. Wonderful! We will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2007
Awesome recipe. Family really enjoyed this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sandusky, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2007
My family thought this sounded odd at first, but they wound up loving it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2007
I followed suggestions of others an made a few additions: red and yellow bell peppers, pinto beans, sour cream (in a layer of it's own). Also, I substituted soy ground beef, so it required a beef bullion cube to boost the beef flavor. My boyfriend commented three times that it was a 'great dish' :) I would have liked to figure out how to make the flour tortilla shells a bit crispier as the layers inside. Baking lightly first?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mcmeg12

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annapolis, Maryland, USA
Living In: Helsinki, Uusimaa, Finland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2007
I love this recipe. I made it a few years ago, but now that our family has grown by two more mouths, I needed a larger dish to feed them all. I used 2 lb. of beef, upped the spices by a teaspoon or so, but kept the tomato paste and sauce at the original amounts -- that helped to cut down on the very tomato-y taste. I also added a layer of corn, a layer of black beans and some chili peppers. I used twice as many tortillas and layer two at a time, side by side in a 9x13 dish. It was fantastic -- all my kids ate it up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EPRUETZ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kingwood, Texas, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2007
IT was very cheesy. I added green peppers and substituted chili powder with paprika. It was good, but there were upset stomachs all around!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2007
Yeesh. I thought I'd avoid the overly tomato-y taste by omitting the tomato paste. I also used black beans in exchange for the ground beef. Still, found this dish to taste as good as it looked...and it did not look appetizing coming out of the oven. It was not the worst tasting thing I've had but I will not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mezo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 143) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pantry Raid Chicken Enchilada Casserole

See how to make a quick-and-easy, cheesy Mexican casserole.

Enchilada Casserole

This cheesy vegetarian enchilada casserole stars black beans and tempeh.

Easy Chile Chicken Enchilada Casserole

Try this quick and easy green chile chicken enchilada casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States