Empty Wallet Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2013
Really liked this recipe! Made it exactly as written and it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SarahStumphf

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Middletown, New York, USA
Living In: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2012
I'd have to tweak a little more My husband said it was ok. Don't know if I'd make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Andreas, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2012
I wanted to try this mainly because the name gave me a chuckle for today. It was hard to rate mainly because the submitter said to use whatever is on hand, thus it changes the results each time; but I think it is a good "basic" to build on. I did not use cumin or mushrooms; added a small red bell pepper sliced thin, some leftover carrots, and a small bit of chopped celery that I needed to use up. Topped with panko instead of the crackers. This turned out very tasty and there is some leftover for lunch. Will keep this one handy for those "empty wallet" days and look forward to adding other leftovers. Thanks for sharing, JESLYNN.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by misty

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2011
I didn't use the mushrooms since my husband doesn't like. Also didn't cook the onions before baking. The poultry seasoning was a bit much & too overpowering. The paprika I would have left off also. Not bad, but not a definite keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Aberdeen, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
this was simple and good! it was a great change to all of the holiday food we've been eating!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SMiller

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Granbury, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2009
After tasting it in my head, I didn't like the idea of cumin, poultry seasoning and thyme. So I used cumin, chili powder and oregano. I also added a layer of grated cheddar cheese between and on top of the layers of potatoes. To keep with the southwest flavors I seemed to be building, I added a can of diced green chiles to the cream of chicken soup. This was a great budget meal and we liked it quite a bit. Thanks Jeslynn!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianemwj

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burbank, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: May 15, 2009
I love this as a "base recipe" - if you use your imagination, and whatever happens to be in the cupboard, the possibilities are endless. I added a serrano pepper (seeds and all) to the sauteeing onions, along with garlic and more spices. I only used 1 can of soup but next time I'll use 2. My family loved it and there was just a small bit leftover (and it made an excellent breakfast!). Also, be sure to spice up your ground beef as you brown it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2009
Yum! This was delicious...easy to make, not very expensive since you probably have most of the ingredients on hand, and lots of flavor! I love the crunchy cracker top mixed with the potatoes and everything else! Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mands

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Great Falls, Montana, USA
Living In: Carroll, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ANDREASKYE
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
Tasty and fairly easy. Also as easy on the budget as it says. Made as written. Adding other veggies would be good but be sure to adjust the liquid up a little for fresh veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANDREASKYE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mineral Wells, Texas, USA
Living In: Rhome, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2008
My husband and son loved it. My daughter wouldn't touch it and I didn't like all the cummin taste, too strong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Decatur, Illinois, USA
Living In: Powder Springs, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Savory Tater Tot Casserole

This casserole makes a savory meat-and-potatoes meal--all in one dish.

Cabbage Roll Casserole

See how to make an easy, hearty, beef and cabbage casserole.

Hearty Ham Casserole

See how to make a cheesy baked casserole with ham, potatoes, and corn.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States