Empire Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2008
Exactly the kind of cookie I had in mind! These turned out looking great and tasting rich and buttery. Tip for the previous reviewer who found them messy to roll out: I rolled about half of the dough between 2 large sheets of wax paper. (Put the rest of the dough in the fridge until you're ready for it.) The wax paper keeps the dough from sticking to your rolling pin and work surface - you don't even need to use any flour. Peel off the top sheet and do your cut-outs. The cookies will also be easy to lift off from the bottom sheet. Also, you can keep re-rolling the scraps of dough without having to worry that you've added too much flour to the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2006
My dough was very dry and crumbly and hard to work with, then after the initial taste test I thought that these were very dry and not that good at all. But after letting them sit in a covered container overnight, the rasberry jam (I used seedless) moistened those cookies and they ended up being really good. i don't know how to make the dough easier to work with if I should try adding another egg or some milk perhaps?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BBLUELINE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kenora, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2006
These are exactly the Empire Cookie I was looking for. My changes include enhancing the flavouring a bit. I used pure vanilla extract I also bumped up the almond a bit. I used a very small round cookie cutter to make a very delicate sized cookie. I only put one very tiny piece of marschino cherry in the centre. Tht is how I remember them from the bakery. I added a few tablespoons of wheat germ to add texture to the dough. I put the jam on the one half of the cookie, then left that jam covered half open on racks for awhile so the jam could "dry out a bit" then I closed it up with the top cookie.and iced it. Yes, a bit of work, but worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2003
Super easy to make and were a huge hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2002
This are easy and look so fancy with the sandwich effect and the icing drizzled on top. I've made these several times. Very popular with family and friends and perfect for kids to help with. Thanks for the great recipe Marguerite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RACHEL V.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2007
I followed the recipe exactly & they turned out great. I made them on Friday (today is Tuesday) & they are still wonderful! Be sure to store them in a covered contatiner as other reviewer's have suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
I double the recipe, and used a piece of towel dried maraschino cherry for the top did not want to buy or spend money on candy cherries. The cookies were awesome, not too sweet even with the sugar glaze, my favorite cookie to eat so far. If your not a big chocolate fan try these so yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pamcancook

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
great cookies - best shortbread ever
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kinga

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Katowice, Silesian, Poland
Living In: Puslinch, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2010
I formed two balls of dough and flattened them into a disk shape, put one in the fridge and tried to roll the other but like another reviewer, my dough seemed too crumbly to roll out. I took the suggestion of yet another reviewer and rolled out the dough between two sheets of wax paper and it worked like a charm. I put the cookies on a parchment lined cookie tray and chilled them in the fridge for 10 mins before baking them. My cookies only took 8 mins to bake and for the edges to turn a very light golden colour. Next time I think I might add a little more vanilla to enhance the flavor of the cookies. That said, these cookies were a big hit with our family. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gabbagabba

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2011
I was not a fan of these cookies. I think the recipe was easy to follow and i thought they were going to taste great but it had a funny taste to it. Not sure what I would do to change it next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Irish Soda Bread Cookies

Turn the flavors of soda bread into quick-and-easy cookies.

Sweet and Salty Nestlé Toll House(R) Cookies

Satisfy your cravings for salty and sweet in one quick-and-easy cookie!

Gingerbread Cookies II

See how to make simple, 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States