Empire Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2009
One of the best cookie recipes I've ever made! Super easy as I normally make the dough in the morning and keep it wrapped up in the fridge until the afternoon. I find rolling it out between wax paper to be the easiest way to avoid a major kitchen mess. Since I don't have an actual round cookie cutter, I use a shot glass instead which is the perfect size. I noramlly like the raspberry jam in the middle but sometimes switch it up with my homemade strawberry. Super yummy and everyone loves them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennyd1102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oakville, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Freelton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2008
My husband used to make these cookies with his Scottish Grampa, and he said this recipe is exactly like he remembers them to be. They are perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joc

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2008
Just as I remember them from when I worked in a Scottich Tea room. They were so easy to make!! They dough was very crumbly but rolled out easily when I used a piece of plastic wrap b/t the dough and rolling pin. Everyone loved them and I will definitly make them every year for Christmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2008
Exactly the kind of cookie I had in mind! These turned out looking great and tasting rich and buttery. Tip for the previous reviewer who found them messy to roll out: I rolled about half of the dough between 2 large sheets of wax paper. (Put the rest of the dough in the fridge until you're ready for it.) The wax paper keeps the dough from sticking to your rolling pin and work surface - you don't even need to use any flour. Peel off the top sheet and do your cut-outs. The cookies will also be easy to lift off from the bottom sheet. Also, you can keep re-rolling the scraps of dough without having to worry that you've added too much flour to the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2008
I've just recently fallen in love with baking, and have so much to learn. My mother's favourite cookie is the Empire cookie, although I'm not a fan of them myself. Unfortunately, I can never find them at the bakery. With mother's day coming up, I decided to try to make them myself. I was very nervous as I've only baked a few things to date. Totally unfounded! They came out fantastic on the first try. I couldn't believe that I made these cookies. I used a cookie cutter (first time) in the shape of a heart. As I said, I'm not fond of them so I asked my sister to give them a trial run before giving them to my mother. My sister oohed and ahhhed. I am now a BIG fan of empire cookies. My mother was shocked to see her fav cookies, and that I made them. She so went on about them to my Aunt, that I then had to make a second batch for her! .I don't have anything other than my kitchen table (wooden) to roll the dough on. The dough is so sticky and no matter how much flour I dusted the table with, that dough would stick to it and the rolling pin. I kept brushing flour on the rolling pin. Then, after I cut out the shapes, I'd try and lift them up with a spatula and they'd stick! So my poor little cookies mostly came out looking like mutated hearts. Secondly, I set the timer for 10 mins and they came out beautifully, but the second batch, also set for 10 mins came out a little too brown on the bottom.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2008
These are my new favourite cookie in the entire cookie world! Let the cookies set for an hour after you assemble them to allow the jam to set and they'll be even more perfect (if you can wait that long)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2008
The cookies were good but the icing was not very good at all. The almond flavour was over powering and the icing was too sweet. If I were to make again I would skip the icing as the cookies were good by themselves
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Newmarket, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2008
I chose these cookies for a church cookie swap. They turned out very beautiful and fancy displayed on a three tiered crystal serving dish. However, they were time consuming for me to make with a 3 year old under foot but not impossible. I gave this recipe 4 stars because I thought the cookie itself was somewhat bland, but others raved!! My 9 year old was smitten with them. I used 1/3 of a cherry for the "berry" and piped the leaf on with green icing. These cookies were definately a SHOW STOPPER!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Yulee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Erogers63
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2007
Excellent cookie to add to any cookie exchange. They are beautiful for presentation and melt in your mouth too. My mother in-law makes a more traditional recipe, but these are a stiff competion to 50 yr old recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2007
These were excellent! I made them for my entire family for xmas, and they were GONE so fast. A little time consuming to make, and the icing was tricky; I had to keep drizzling it on because it had a tendency to run off, but they were absolutely worth it. They reminded me of a recipe my grandmother used to make years ago. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Irish Soda Bread Cookies

Turn the flavors of soda bread into quick-and-easy cookies.

Sweet and Salty Nestlé Toll House(R) Cookies

Satisfy your cravings for salty and sweet in one quick-and-easy cookie!

Gingerbread Cookies II

See how to make simple, 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States