Empire Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2008
Exactly the kind of cookie I had in mind! These turned out looking great and tasting rich and buttery. Tip for the previous reviewer who found them messy to roll out: I rolled about half of the dough between 2 large sheets of wax paper. (Put the rest of the dough in the fridge until you're ready for it.) The wax paper keeps the dough from sticking to your rolling pin and work surface - you don't even need to use any flour. Peel off the top sheet and do your cut-outs. The cookies will also be easy to lift off from the bottom sheet. Also, you can keep re-rolling the scraps of dough without having to worry that you've added too much flour to the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2008
I've just recently fallen in love with baking, and have so much to learn. My mother's favourite cookie is the Empire cookie, although I'm not a fan of them myself. Unfortunately, I can never find them at the bakery. With mother's day coming up, I decided to try to make them myself. I was very nervous as I've only baked a few things to date. Totally unfounded! They came out fantastic on the first try. I couldn't believe that I made these cookies. I used a cookie cutter (first time) in the shape of a heart. As I said, I'm not fond of them so I asked my sister to give them a trial run before giving them to my mother. My sister oohed and ahhhed. I am now a BIG fan of empire cookies. My mother was shocked to see her fav cookies, and that I made them. She so went on about them to my Aunt, that I then had to make a second batch for her! .I don't have anything other than my kitchen table (wooden) to roll the dough on. The dough is so sticky and no matter how much flour I dusted the table with, that dough would stick to it and the rolling pin. I kept brushing flour on the rolling pin. Then, after I cut out the shapes, I'd try and lift them up with a spatula and they'd stick! So my poor little cookies mostly came out looking like mutated hearts. Secondly, I set the timer for 10 mins and they came out beautifully, but the second batch, also set for 10 mins came out a little too brown on the bottom.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2008
These are my new favourite cookie in the entire cookie world! Let the cookies set for an hour after you assemble them to allow the jam to set and they'll be even more perfect (if you can wait that long)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2008
The cookies were good but the icing was not very good at all. The almond flavour was over powering and the icing was too sweet. If I were to make again I would skip the icing as the cookies were good by themselves
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Newmarket, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2008
I chose these cookies for a church cookie swap. They turned out very beautiful and fancy displayed on a three tiered crystal serving dish. However, they were time consuming for me to make with a 3 year old under foot but not impossible. I gave this recipe 4 stars because I thought the cookie itself was somewhat bland, but others raved!! My 9 year old was smitten with them. I used 1/3 of a cherry for the "berry" and piped the leaf on with green icing. These cookies were definately a SHOW STOPPER!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Yulee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2007
Excellent cookie to add to any cookie exchange. They are beautiful for presentation and melt in your mouth too. My mother in-law makes a more traditional recipe, but these are a stiff competion to 50 yr old recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2007
These were excellent! I made them for my entire family for xmas, and they were GONE so fast. A little time consuming to make, and the icing was tricky; I had to keep drizzling it on because it had a tendency to run off, but they were absolutely worth it. They reminded me of a recipe my grandmother used to make years ago. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2007
I followed the recipe exactly & they turned out great. I made them on Friday (today is Tuesday) & they are still wonderful! Be sure to store them in a covered contatiner as other reviewer's have suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2007
I made these a couple days in advance for a party we were having over the holidays. These cookies did not see that party, as everyone ATE THEM as soon as they were done. Fantastic recipe, although I wish there were some way to drizzle the icing so it doesnt drip off the cookies so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by strictlyrouge

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Paris, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Brantford, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2006
This is a great empire cookies recipe. They were easy to make (only took about an hour from start to finish - I thought it would take much longer!). The taste was absolutely delicious, the frosting almost tasted like a marzipan because of the yummy addition of the almond extract. And the cookies were soft and melt-in-your-mouth good. And the dough rolled out really easily. I had no glacee cherries so I topped mine with a slivered almond and they looked great. These only lasted a day in my house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Triple Chocolate Chip Cookies

Make chocolate chip cookies without an electric mixer.

The Best Rolled Sugar Cookies

See how to make the ultimate sugar cookie from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States