Empire Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2010
These cookies are a treasured, highly sought-after item here in Winnipeg; though we call them Imperial cookies for some reason. Tired of paying high prices to satisfy my cravings, I found this recipe--and it is stellar!! Tastes exactly like what I would find in a high-end coffee shop! I will be sure to make a double batch next time to freeze leftovers. Also, next time I will put more jam inside the cookies, as they slurped up the excess liquid like a sponge. These treats always taste better after sitting overnight, which softens the cookie, and gives it a better texture, at least to me. Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2010
I love these cookies!!! they look awesome. Thank you so much for this recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2010
I formed two balls of dough and flattened them into a disk shape, put one in the fridge and tried to roll the other but like another reviewer, my dough seemed too crumbly to roll out. I took the suggestion of yet another reviewer and rolled out the dough between two sheets of wax paper and it worked like a charm. I put the cookies on a parchment lined cookie tray and chilled them in the fridge for 10 mins before baking them. My cookies only took 8 mins to bake and for the edges to turn a very light golden colour. Next time I think I might add a little more vanilla to enhance the flavor of the cookies. That said, these cookies were a big hit with our family. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shelly Wylie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2010
A lot of work but worth it. Never tried these cookies before thought they would be too sweet but they weren't . Scottish neighbor and chiropractor loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brampton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2010
Lovely recipe and exactly what I was looking for. No changes needed. I made them quite tiny; they were perfect little mouthsful, and therefore not very filling. They looked so pretty as well among a tray of sweets. Thanks for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debbie Does Sallad

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2010
My boyfriend is from England and his family and him all say these cookies really remind him of home! They are so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
I loved these, and remember my mom making them when I was younger, she was from Scotland. I did add a bit more almond to the icing, but what I am thinking is next time I might use the store bought sugar cookie dough( I know) but it would be fine Im sure, I will try it and update.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jean

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Niagara Falls, New York, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2009
these are my favourite cookies of all time. this recipe doesn't exactly match the ones i remember getting from the mom & pop bakery in my hometown but they're pretty close. i think the brand of jam would make all the difference. the reason i gave them 4 out of 5 is that the dough was too dry to roll out and kept cracking so i had to add an extra egg (i doubled the recipe so a whole egg would probably be too much extra moisture for a single batch). otherwise, very tasty and satisfying!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2009
These are great as is with the exception of adding more almond flavouring to the icing and needing more water to make the icing spreadable as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2009
These are a-maz-ing. So yum. I didn't have any candied cherries so I left that out. That was the only change I made. Very, very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Irish Soda Bread Cookies

Turn the flavors of soda bread into quick-and-easy cookies.

Sweet and Salty Nestlé Toll House(R) Cookies

Satisfy your cravings for salty and sweet in one quick-and-easy cookie!

Gingerbread Cookies II

See how to make simple, 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States