Empire Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2014
Great cookies!! everyone loved them!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2014
These are the Empress of all cookies as the title suggests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anne Shirley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2014
Made these tonight. Thought they were great, love the icing. Added a touch more vanilla to the dough. Since so many has trouble rolling out the dough, I just dropped it onto some plastic wrap, formed a log and put it in the fridge for a couple of minutes. Sliced it into disks, no rolling required.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara Bell

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by PieKid
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
Very nice. Easy to roll out and cut. Just what I was looking for after having one from the local bakery. Will include in my Christmas cookies for sure! Thanks for a great, simple recipe. PS - also used this recipe for my Stained Glass cookies and it was perfect as it's so easy to work with the dough
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PieKid

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Delta, British Columbia, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2014
These were great! I will put them into my rotation! Stayed good in my cookie jar! I used the wax paper one of the reviewers recommended, worked great, no wasted dough!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Living In: Port Clinton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by janccd
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2013
Our Scottish Mums loved these! I made them today for my hubby as he was telling me how much his Mum loved them and he remembered having them from the bakery as a child. I also have a memory of having had these cookies as a child. I read on the reviews that lots had a problem with a crumbly dough that was difficult to deal with. As I was making my batch I though about this and this is my conclusion. When you are creaming the butter, cream it very well in the bowl and then add the sugar and cream them together very well until they are soft. Then add your egg and vanilla and again, cream very well. When you add your flour and baking powder mixture, add it in small amounts and blend well after each addition and at the end the dough will be very well combined. Definitely lay one half of your dough on a large waxed paper sheet after making a disc of it and patting it flatter. Lay another waxed paper sheet over it and then roll it out. You will have no trouble at all doing it this way. I used a shot glass to cut out the cookies as it was exactly 2 inches in diameter. Any larger would be too much. The raspberry preserves I used was a bit of a specialty item made from frozen raspberries grown in British Columbia. I used parchment paper for baking them. Use enough hot water in the glaze to be able to pour it off a spoon and not pour off the cookie. I used about two tablespoons of hot water. These cookies are perfect!!! I didn't change a thing with this recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by janccd

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2013
These are really easy to make filled cookies. I used raspberry jam for some of the filling and orange marmalde for the rest. I also added orange flavoring to the icing. These freeze very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sue

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2012
These cookies melt in your mouth! I use a champagne flute as my cookie cutter. At Christmas I make these with wine jelly, makes this classic a little jazzier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by PennyPup
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2012
I made this recipe to the letter. The only change I made was on the décor. They taste amazing and I'm sure they'll be a huge hit at tomorrows family gathering for Easter. As other reviers have suggested, roll out the dough between sheets of wax paper. (not parchment) I put the dough in the fridge, as one reviewer suggested, before rolling and found it made the dough crumble even more. After letting it return to room temperature, the dough rolled out perfectly. All my batches of cookies were done at 8 minutes at 350°F. This recipe yielded 15 complete cookies at 1½" across and ?" thickness. (30 single cookies) Which is perfect as it means I get to eat 3! I will certainly make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PennyPup

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Gatineau, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2012
I was in a hurry and did not have enough flour so I used cake flour. The dough was sticky and I had to use flour. They turned out very well but making them took longer. I would suggest that you do not substitute regular flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Irish Soda Bread Cookies

Turn the flavors of soda bread into quick-and-easy cookies.

Sweet and Salty Nestlé Toll House(R) Cookies

Satisfy your cravings for salty and sweet in one quick-and-easy cookie!

Gingerbread Cookies II

See how to make simple, 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States