Empanadas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by LatinaCook
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2005
***** I've made this 4 times already. TIP: The best thing is to use it right away (next day) so it won't become too sticky. The dought i baked today was in the refrig. for 5 days and it was sooooo sticky. Didn't have a problem with the previous ones which i baked the next day. /I made a batch of apple filled (apple pie filling with a little cinnamon) and another batch with nutella and crushed hazelnuts. In my opinion, fruit is the way to go. These were delicious. The kids liked the nutella ones too but i think they were a little too sweet. The Nutella is least likely to "leak" in the oven and they seemed easier to handle when they are still hot. The fruit ones stay softer longer after cooking them so i had to wait a little longer for them to "set" so they could be transfered to the serving dish. No Biggie!! I was just in a hurry and i needed my cookie sheet to bake some more. I love this recipe so much i want to try all kinds of fillings in it. You should try it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
361 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LatinaCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jardines Del Caribe, Ponce, Puerto Rico
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2006
This dough is super. I had no problems with the consistency or the filling. I used plenty of flour when rolling out and baked on parchment-lined baking sheets. Definitely go with parchment if you want an easy clean up! If you're like me and don't like the hassle of rolling out dough, you can also shape these into 1" balls, then press the balls flat with the bottom of a glass - much less work & mess! Finally, use high-quality preserves for your filling - it will make a difference!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
260 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2005
Yum! This is the first time I've made empanadas, and your dough was fantastic. I filled them with picadillo (ground beef, potatoes, carrots, etc.) and brushed some egg on top to make them golden brown. They were a hit. I used lots of flour when rolling out the dough, as others had suggested, and I floured the wax paper on the cookie sheet so they wouldn't stick (the first batch stuck even to the wax paper). They weren't ready after 20 minutes so I cooked them for almost 30 and they turned out great. Thank you for this Christmas Eve hit. Oh, my sister suggests a little bit of salt in the dough. I liked it as is, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
183 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2006
So wonderful! A great starting point for many different filling choices. I bought a 3.5" Cut-and-Seal gizmo from Pampered Chef (no- not affiliated with them in any way). The device has a spring loaded crimping edge to perfectly seal the pastries. It makes it easier to get good looking empanadas and speeds up the whole filling process. It costs less than $10.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
75 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BINDERSBEE

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2005
excellent! I filled some with thinly sliced apples tossed with cinnamon, ginger and allspice then added a small chunk of cream cheese. Another batch I added cream cheese with dried fruits and toasted walnuts and then tried a few filled with peanut butter and jam and another few I put apples and cheddar cheese together. I found that they were all best eatten slighly cooled out of the oven so the cheese is still gooey but tossed in the microwave the next day for a few seconds give the same effect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2006
First, the dough HAS to stay cold or they don't come together very well. Made these twice, once with a seedless jam and all the jam came out while baking. The second time I used chopped up apple pie filling. That was a total success!! Took these to a Spanish Club dinner and they disappeared! Glad I snacked on a couple before I left home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2002
This recipe deserves 10 STARS! You need to allow yourself plenty of time to put them together. The result is well worth it!! Make sure you moisten the inside edge of one half of the circle before seal it then pinch it. I rolled the finished cookies in cinnimon-sugar mix. I took these to a Christmas party and they were THE HIT COOKIE! Thankfully I made a double batch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2002
Absolutely wonderful. I wondered about the cream cheese in the dough, but was very pleased with the results. If you double the batch, just use 1/2 the dough at a time so that it will not get to soft to work with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jo Hertel

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pearl, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Brandon, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2005
These were very good! You should double or even triple the recipe though. Also to add a little more flavor to the pastry, when you roll it out on flour add a little powdered sugar to the flour to make it sweeter. My family loved these and my boyfriend said these are better than the ones his Grandma used to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SHAIKIRA
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2005
This is a great recipe the dough is fantastic i've made several times .... i would give it a 10 star if i could.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHAIKIRA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 328) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Argentine Meat Empanadas

See how to make baked ground beef empanadas.

Homemade Flour Tortillas

See how easy it is to make your own homemade flour tortillas.

Albondigas

This classic Mexican meatball soup is surprisingly simple to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States