Empanadas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: May 3, 2010
I was short on time but couldn't find a reviewer who had attempted to make these without refrigerating the dough overnight. But I did it anyway and they turned out great! Here's how: After making the dough, wrap in plastic and chill in fridge for 30 minutes. Using a generous amount of flour on your surface, rolling pin and the dough itself, roll out gently -- being careful to always re-flour as it will get sticky if you don't (because you haven't chilled it overnight). I was also surprised at how much of the sugar/cinnamon mixture these absorbed after coming out of the oven looking a bit dry. No way! They were coated! I used Nutella for filling. Next time I'll use 5" circles because Nutella is so rich that this could have used a higher dough-to-filling ratio. :) SIMPLY YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Natasha Kay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Santa Clara, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2010
These were very good, the peach filling was great. I tried to use blackberry preserves and it all seeped out during baking. I suggest using a pie filling
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2010
These are delish! I experimented and used peach preserves and added a some strained chopped peaches from a cup of fruit, added some sugar and cinnamon to the mix and Yumm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2010
These were fairly good but the dough part turned out hard although I followed the recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2010
This is a really good empanada recipe! My husband loved it and it reminded him of his childhood! The only thing wrong was that the dough was a little sticky to work with.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2010
Delicious! I made these with homemade apple pie filling (sliced apples, cinnamon, brown sugar, sugar, lemon juice and flour) I would give them 5/5 but it was hard getting the dough as thin as I think would've made them perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Boulder, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2010
Fantastic! Goes great with ice cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2010
I have never had empanadas before, let alone tried to make them. I'm no connoisseur, but I can tell you I loved these! They're lovely for dessert or even in the morning with a cup of tea. So glad I made a double batch. I followed the recipe exactly (except I used apple pie filling instead of preserves) and it was incredibly easy. The dough was gorgeous. I didn't have trouble with it being too sticky, but I did find that as the extra dough sat out and was handled more, the finished crescents didn't stay closed as nicely in the oven. Next time I will pop the extra dough back in the fridge while I fill the first round, rather than keeping it out on the counter. Thanks for the recipe, Rosina. I'll definitely be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by corianne.denby

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2010
I made these for my Mom;s birthday dinner(we did a mexican theme meal) and they were fantastic! I stuffed some with apples and a cinnamon caramel sauce and some with Banana'a and caramel. They were sooooo yummy!! A press helps best to keep from leaking but does pretty good without them if your use a thicker/chunkier filling
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by branddia
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2010
This recipe is great and the dough is out of this world! I have made these two times now and both times were wonderful. The first time used jelly and cream cheese mixture. The second time (which I liked best) I used only the cream cheese mixture - 1 package of cream cheese, 1 egg, and 1/3 cup of sugar. On about half we mixed in mini chocolate chips, and dip in cinn/sugar. The cream cheese mixture was a favorite! Thanks, will use again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by branddia

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: South Charleston, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 330) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Argentine Meat Empanadas

See how to make baked ground beef empanadas.

Homemade Flour Tortillas

See how easy it is to make your own homemade flour tortillas.

Corn Tortillas

See how to make authentic corn tortillas from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States