Empanadas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Photo by Juliana's Kitchen
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2010
i followed this recipe exactly and they all turned out like authentic empanadas..however i thought that my dough was a bit to thin and it wasnt as flaky.So next time im probably going to use the Best Flaky Pie Crust as my dough for the empanadas. Apricots were my filling. Def. going to save this recipe for next time! imade the empanadas the same day i made the dough i out the dough in the freezer for about 1hours and them 2hours in the refri. then took it out and waited for 30mins to roll it-the dough was pretty easy to work with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Juliana's Kitchen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2010
These are so delicious. I made them for a latin-themed party and they were a huge hit. I did half with apricot & pineapple, and half with raspberry. I plan on trying them again and putting Nutella in them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Abbey
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2010
Yum! These were delicious, I filled mine with fuji apple preserves, but the real star was the crust! Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Abbey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manchester, Iowa, USA
Living In: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA
Photo by rosabela
Reviewed: May 31, 2010
I wanted to lighten these up with less fat, so I used margerine instead of butter and I also used a low fat cream cheese in the dough. I kept it in the fridge for 5 days and it was sticky to work with when I rolled it out. I kneaded in another 1/2 cup of flour till it wasn't sticky anymore. I HIGHLY RECOMMEND THAT YOU USE BUTTER FOR THE DOUGH. I makes the dough firm as it gets cold in the fridge. But I must say that these were absolutely delicious! Will definitely make again. I added raspberry and strawberry jam filling. A few things that I learned are 1) If there is too much jam filling it will leak during baking, and 2) roll the enpanada into the sugar/cinnamon mixture BEFORE baking - you get more sugar on the dough and it'll have a nice crunch after it's baked. Thanks for sharing a wonderful recipe, Rosina!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hamburg, Hamburg, Germany
Reviewed: May 27, 2010
These were fantastic! I made them for my Spanish food final and their only complaint was that I didn't bring more! I made them with apple, and it looks like I'll be making some more for the Spanish vs French end of the year charades match! ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Cuyama, California, USA
Living In: Kersey, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2010
Tastes great, like a cross between a danish and a snickerdoodle, but they can be messy to make with all the jelly. I used a mixture of whole wheat and white flour and no one knew the difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2010
Yummy! I used homemade apricot filling for these. I doubled the recipe and used a 2 inch cutter, it made 60 cookies. For those that had seepage, cook your filling on medium-high heat to allow some liquid to evaporate and thicken the fruit. This is a delicate dough and is supposed to be handled lightly with not a lot of flour added when rolling, it is to be slightly sticky to help the empanadas stay together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by the4taals

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Owen Sound, Ontario, Canada
Photo by Christina
Reviewed: May 5, 2010
VERY GOOD! I made them exactly as written, and I loved how tender and flaky the dough came out. I made mine a little smaller and they looked beautiful. I filled half with orange marmalade and the other half with raspberry-YUM! This is a keeper for sure! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: May 3, 2010
I was short on time but couldn't find a reviewer who had attempted to make these without refrigerating the dough overnight. But I did it anyway and they turned out great! Here's how: After making the dough, wrap in plastic and chill in fridge for 30 minutes. Using a generous amount of flour on your surface, rolling pin and the dough itself, roll out gently -- being careful to always re-flour as it will get sticky if you don't (because you haven't chilled it overnight). I was also surprised at how much of the sugar/cinnamon mixture these absorbed after coming out of the oven looking a bit dry. No way! They were coated! I used Nutella for filling. Next time I'll use 5" circles because Nutella is so rich that this could have used a higher dough-to-filling ratio. :) SIMPLY YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Natasha Kay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Santa Clara, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2010
These were very good, the peach filling was great. I tried to use blackberry preserves and it all seeped out during baking. I suggest using a pie filling
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 338) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Argentine Meat Empanadas

See how to make baked ground beef empanadas.

Homemade Flour Tortillas

See how easy it is to make your own homemade flour tortillas.

Corn Tortillas

See how to make authentic corn tortillas from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States