Empanadas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2011
Very yummy! We used nutella as filling in some of them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Freehold, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Ogden, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2011
These were really yummy. Make sure you use PLENTY of powdered sugar or flour (or a mix of the two) to roll them out on. When you do, it's a piece of cake... pie... empanada! ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicki Peoples

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2011
I did not like this dough. It came out way too flaky for my taste. It's better for pastry empanadas, than savory ones.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by YumLover

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Veracruz, Veracruz, Mexico

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
These turned out great! on an accidental miscalculation I ended up quadrupling the recipe. The dough is not unmanageable, just use lots of flour on your tools and rolling surface. I did not have a cookie cutter so I used a glass, sealed them with a little water and pinched them shut with a fork. I made most of them with a simple apple pie filling. I just chopped up the apples much smaller than I would for pie. The rest I filled with fruit preserves. I found the apple pie did not leak at all while the fruit preserve filling was very leaky when cooked. Since I had so many leftovers I just froze the prepared but unbaked remainders. I cook them from frozen just adding a few additional minutes. They turn out just as good as the fresh ones!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
I have been searching for an empanada recipe like my mom used to make for quite awhile now. She made everything from memory and since she's passed, I can't ask her. But all the ingredients and steps seem the same... the picture looks like hers... I can't wait to try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
Wow, I was really surprised by this. Once cooked, any hint of cream cheese was gone. People actually said it was like a butter cookie crust. Will definitely keep this in mind for other recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
these were very yummy. they looked prettier with the cinnamon and sugar than the powdered sugar. I also recommend rolling them in the cinnamon sugar mixture before baking. I did both strawberry and raspberry jam. They were equally good. Also they do not fit much jam in them. It will start to come out. I recommend sealing edges with a fork to make them prettier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
I used the dough, but went with a savory filling instead - chicken pot pie. It was a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2010
Great Recipe!!! I took advice from other reviews and used fruit filling (Premium) and they were awesome. Will definitely make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2010
Wow! These are spectacular! I made these thinking to myself, these seem to be too easy to make that they must not be delicious, but I tried it anyways and boy was I wrong. They are delicious and my family absolutely loved them! Thanks so much for the recipe! They were a hit at a party, gone in minutes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 330) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Argentine Meat Empanadas

See how to make baked ground beef empanadas.

Homemade Flour Tortillas

See how easy it is to make your own homemade flour tortillas.

Corn Tortillas

See how to make authentic corn tortillas from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States