Empanadas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2011
These are a bit time consuming and I have no idea how you are supposed to make 30 out of one batch, but they came out alright. I personally would have prefered a dough that wasn't quite so bland, and I can think of many other desserts I would rather make instead, so I think I'll pass on this one in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2011
Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARIO1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Abilene, Texas, USA
Living In: Early, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2011
Very yummy! Used raspberry pie filling, which was too runny. Next time, I will for sure use a thick jam instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lehi, Utah, USA
Living In: Eagle Mountain, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2011
Yummy! These are easy to make, but it does take time. We used Neufchatel cheese b/c that's all I buy and it still tasted great. We refrigerated overnight. Also, we didn't roll these out. I cut the chilled dough in pieces and then rolled those in balls and flattened with a glass. I did have to flatten a little more by hand. We rolled the empanadas in sugar before baking and that turned out great! About half of the empanadas with strawberry jam leaked, but I probably put too much in those. I also made a few with peach preserves and none of those leaked. The preserves were not so runny so that might have something to do with it. In any case, both flavors were delicious. And the crust is delicious so it was okay that some leaked. My 10 yr old made these with me, and even my 9 and 4 yr olds got in on the action. Fun family recipe if you're not in a hurry. The oldest was taking these in for a cultural project at school and we had never made them before, so very happy that they came out so well. Great recipe!! We're going to try wiith savory fillings next time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2011
Everyone at work seemed to love them. Will make them again,soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2011
Excellent recipe- My mom and I have been making these for our annual Cinco de Mayo party for 6 years now. We have to quadruple the recipe if we want to have leftovers, and they always turn out perfect! Best with peach preserves, we have tried strawberry and pineapple too but they aren't nearly as good. We use some cornstarch with water to brush the edges of the circles to help them stick together, and press the edges closed using our fingers not a fork for the prettiest presentation. A lot of work but well worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2011
YUM!!! These do go very fast at my Cinco de Mayo parties so I always triple the recipe to have enough!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2011
Very good, but I changed it slightly. I used canned pie filling (Cherry and Apple) I was a challange to seal up the empanda so it wouldn't leak when baked. I only had a couple that totally held tight and it felt like I was scrimping on filling. It doesn't really matter once there are cooled, but it looks better when they don't leak.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2011
Very yummy! We used nutella as filling in some of them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Freehold, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Ogden, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2011
These were really yummy. Make sure you use PLENTY of powdered sugar or flour (or a mix of the two) to roll them out on. When you do, it's a piece of cake... pie... empanada! ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicki Peoples

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 338) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Argentine Meat Empanadas

See how to make baked ground beef empanadas.

Homemade Flour Tortillas

See how easy it is to make your own homemade flour tortillas.

Corn Tortillas

See how to make authentic corn tortillas from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States