Empanadas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: May 9, 2011
Everyone at work seemed to love them. Will make them again,soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2011
Excellent recipe- My mom and I have been making these for our annual Cinco de Mayo party for 6 years now. We have to quadruple the recipe if we want to have leftovers, and they always turn out perfect! Best with peach preserves, we have tried strawberry and pineapple too but they aren't nearly as good. We use some cornstarch with water to brush the edges of the circles to help them stick together, and press the edges closed using our fingers not a fork for the prettiest presentation. A lot of work but well worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2011
YUM!!! These do go very fast at my Cinco de Mayo parties so I always triple the recipe to have enough!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2011
Very good, but I changed it slightly. I used canned pie filling (Cherry and Apple) I was a challange to seal up the empanda so it wouldn't leak when baked. I only had a couple that totally held tight and it felt like I was scrimping on filling. It doesn't really matter once there are cooled, but it looks better when they don't leak.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2011
Very yummy! We used nutella as filling in some of them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Freehold, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Ogden, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2011
These were really yummy. Make sure you use PLENTY of powdered sugar or flour (or a mix of the two) to roll them out on. When you do, it's a piece of cake... pie... empanada! ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mitchandninasmom

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2011
I did not like this dough. It came out way too flaky for my taste. It's better for pastry empanadas, than savory ones.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by YumLover

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Veracruz, Veracruz, Mexico

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
These turned out great! on an accidental miscalculation I ended up quadrupling the recipe. The dough is not unmanageable, just use lots of flour on your tools and rolling surface. I did not have a cookie cutter so I used a glass, sealed them with a little water and pinched them shut with a fork. I made most of them with a simple apple pie filling. I just chopped up the apples much smaller than I would for pie. The rest I filled with fruit preserves. I found the apple pie did not leak at all while the fruit preserve filling was very leaky when cooked. Since I had so many leftovers I just froze the prepared but unbaked remainders. I cook them from frozen just adding a few additional minutes. They turn out just as good as the fresh ones!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
I have been searching for an empanada recipe like my mom used to make for quite awhile now. She made everything from memory and since she's passed, I can't ask her. But all the ingredients and steps seem the same... the picture looks like hers... I can't wait to try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
Wow, I was really surprised by this. Once cooked, any hint of cream cheese was gone. People actually said it was like a butter cookie crust. Will definitely keep this in mind for other recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 324) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Argentine Meat Empanadas

See how to make baked ground beef empanadas.

Homemade Flour Tortillas

See how easy it is to make your own homemade flour tortillas.

Albondigas

This classic Mexican meatball soup is surprisingly simple to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States