Empanadas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
Amazing! I used Trader Joes strawberry preserves and they are fantastic! Way smaller than I am used to, but I sort of like them this way. I am only sorry I didn't triple this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Maria, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2012
The dough is very "sticky" when it gets warmer, easier to work with if you flour your hands, cutting board, and rolling pin. I kept placing unused portion in fridge until I was ready for the next piece. This helped...I made gingerbread men cut outs and put the filling between the two pieces. Rolled in white and green sugar. Delicious and seasonal...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
These are awesome with Nutella in the middle. Other than that I just followed the recipe including the cinnamon sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2012
I followed the recipe exactly to the instructions but the dough was so sticky. I ended up having to add more flour in order to make it workable. It was also better for me to make little balls and flatten each ball individually with a rolling pin. But everyone at the house loved the results!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2012
The texture was very undesirable. Won't be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fraser, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2012
Terrific! My son rated them 4.5 stars only because nothing is perfect. We doubled the recipe and cut the dough into 3 inch circles and made mini empanadas for Fiesta day at school. For the filling we used canned cherry pie filling and canned raspberry cake filling. They tasted better while still warm, but we took them to school the day after baking and they were a big hit even at room temperature. I was not sure how to store them, given the cream cheese and butter, but we kept them at room temperature with no issues. These empanadas were great and we will definately make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2012
The dough is sooo good! My choice of fillings was not the greatest. I used refried beans and cheese because I didn't have anything else and also some cheap strawberry preserves. But even so it was still good! My bf said I wish we could have these all the time! I'll make them again soon with some better fillings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2012
Easy and yummy. I made half with choc. chips as the filling and half with homemade raspberry jam. Both were excellent. I wouldn't change a thing except to advise that you dip your fork in flour when crimping the edges so the dough doesn't stick to the tines.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2012
These are great! Though I was only able to make 17 rather than 32 and I used a 3" biscuit cutter and rolled the dough to about 1/8" thick. I had no problems with the preserves oozing out since I put a teaspoon on preserves in the middle. I also rushed the chilling but putting the dough in the freezer for about an hour and then letting it sit for about 10 minutes on the counter. The dough was quite sticky but I just rolled it in a little flour until it wasn't sticky anymore and it worked great. All in all these are delicious and I look forward to making them again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2012
Easy, delicious, and pretty! I flute the edges with a fork to seal. I used strawbery preserves. Nice for a dinner party
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 331) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Argentine Meat Empanadas

See how to make baked ground beef empanadas.

Homemade Flour Tortillas

See how easy it is to make your own homemade flour tortillas.

Corn Tortillas

See how to make authentic corn tortillas from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States