Empanadas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2012
I followed the recipe exactly to the instructions but the dough was so sticky. I ended up having to add more flour in order to make it workable. It was also better for me to make little balls and flatten each ball individually with a rolling pin. But everyone at the house loved the results!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2012
The texture was very undesirable. Won't be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fraser, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2012
Terrific! My son rated them 4.5 stars only because nothing is perfect. We doubled the recipe and cut the dough into 3 inch circles and made mini empanadas for Fiesta day at school. For the filling we used canned cherry pie filling and canned raspberry cake filling. They tasted better while still warm, but we took them to school the day after baking and they were a big hit even at room temperature. I was not sure how to store them, given the cream cheese and butter, but we kept them at room temperature with no issues. These empanadas were great and we will definately make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2012
The dough is sooo good! My choice of fillings was not the greatest. I used refried beans and cheese because I didn't have anything else and also some cheap strawberry preserves. But even so it was still good! My bf said I wish we could have these all the time! I'll make them again soon with some better fillings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2012
Easy and yummy. I made half with choc. chips as the filling and half with homemade raspberry jam. Both were excellent. I wouldn't change a thing except to advise that you dip your fork in flour when crimping the edges so the dough doesn't stick to the tines.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2012
These are great! Though I was only able to make 17 rather than 32 and I used a 3" biscuit cutter and rolled the dough to about 1/8" thick. I had no problems with the preserves oozing out since I put a teaspoon on preserves in the middle. I also rushed the chilling but putting the dough in the freezer for about an hour and then letting it sit for about 10 minutes on the counter. The dough was quite sticky but I just rolled it in a little flour until it wasn't sticky anymore and it worked great. All in all these are delicious and I look forward to making them again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2012
Easy, delicious, and pretty! I flute the edges with a fork to seal. I used strawbery preserves. Nice for a dinner party
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2012
Amazing!! I used apple pie filling with extra cinnamon. I made these for work and they were gone before the afternoon was over! The crust is very light and is a nice balance to the sweet filling. Make extra as these will be very popular.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2012
Very good and easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
Made exactly as recipe stated. I didn't care too much for the preserve filling and it leaked all over the place. I think the one reviewer had a good suggestion in cooking down the preserves a bit before baking. I crimped pretty well and didn't overstuff and they still leaked out. I think next time I will use apple pie filling. I think that would be fabulous. The dough was very easy for me to work with. I didn't have any sticking problems as some reviewers have stated. Very unusual to use cream cheese, but it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SELUNE13

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Troy, Illinois, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 328) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Argentine Meat Empanadas

See how to make baked ground beef empanadas.

Homemade Flour Tortillas

See how easy it is to make your own homemade flour tortillas.

Albondigas

This classic Mexican meatball soup is surprisingly simple to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States