Empanadas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2013
Just made these for the kiddos. I rolled the dough out inbetween 2 sheets of waxed paper without any difficulty. I used the Pampered Chef sandwich sealer and baked them on my silpat. They literally slipped right off the mat and the mat wiped clean without any effort. Because 3 oz. packages of cream cheese do not exist, I read many reviews before making these to see what others did. In the end I used the entire 8 oz. brick of cream cheese, 1/4 cup of butter and 2 cups of flour. I think the dough could use some flavoring, maybe cinnamon. I found the dough tasteless and the kids did not like them either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2013
Yum! I refrigerated the dough overnight, so it was very hard when I took it out, but once it sat on the counter for about 30 minutes, it rolled out very easily. I would like the dough to be a bit sweeter, but with the cinnamon/sugar it was fine. I made 3 different kind using canned apple pie filling, canned strawberry pie filling and chocolate chips. I liked the apple best, but my kids liked the chocolate. I will be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2013
Very good and easy to make. Everyone at work loved them, they did not last long at the party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2013
Very good... thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2013
Wow! It is a mystery to me how a pastry dough with so few ingredients could be so wonderful. I am in love with this dough and will probably use it for a lot of things, including pies, in the future. It came out wonderfully delicate and almost melts in your mouth. I made these empanadas with cherry and apple pie filling. The cherry ones were good, but the apple ones were AMAZING! I simply chopped the cherries and apples up into smaller chunks, and made the empanada rounds a bit bigger than the recipe called for so I could squeeze more pie filling in there! I found it a bit hard to roll the bigger empanadas in the cinnamon sugar, so for the second batch, I simply coated a spare cookie sheet with a dusting of cinnamon sugar and when the empanadas were done, I transferred them to the coated sheet and then sprinkled the tops with cinnamon sugar as well. These were a HUGE hit at my Super Bowl Fiesta and I will be making them again in the near future. *Tip - I found that the cherry pie filling oozed out of the seams on the first batch. For the second batch, I wetted the outside edge of the bottom, crimped the two edges together with the tines of a fork, then rolled the edges (much like you do for a pie crust) then crimped them again with the fork. I then pierced the tops with the fork to let steam escape. May seem like overkill, but the cherry pie filling did not leak at all after using this method.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deeta Jean

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Harrisonville, Missouri, USA
Living In: Merriam, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2013
This recipe is wonderful! This is the first time I made Empanadas and they were a huge hit! I followed the recipe exactly as it stands here. I filled mine with apricot preserves, strawberry preserves, a homemade apple filling, and blackberry jam. The jam leaked out, the others did not. This is definitely one I will be making again. I used a 3 inch rim drinking glass as my "cutter" it was a perfect size. Just make sure to pinch your edges together and do not over-fill. These are awesome. Will be adding these to my recipe box! ENJOY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Willoughby, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2013
So quick and easy. I used Trader Joes Cherry Preserves with Fresh Cherries for the filling. The recipe does not make 1.5 dozen unless you make them with a very small cookie cutter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2013
After reading the amazing reviews I will definitely be trying this recipe for both sweet and savory! We love our jalapeno poppers around here and may try filling some with crumbled bacon cream cheese and jalapenos chopped up ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carla

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Shiocton, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2013
ABSOLUTELY DELICIOUS!!Everyone raved about it!! Will definitely keep it as my go to recipe for social gatherings!! doubled recipe and next time will probably quadruple it. LOVE, LOVE, LOVE IT!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
Amazing! I used Trader Joes strawberry preserves and they are fantastic! Way smaller than I am used to, but I sort of like them this way. I am only sorry I didn't triple this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Maria, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 330) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Argentine Meat Empanadas

See how to make baked ground beef empanadas.

Homemade Flour Tortillas

See how easy it is to make your own homemade flour tortillas.

Corn Tortillas

See how to make authentic corn tortillas from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States