Empanadas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: May 7, 2009
spectacular, i made a berry pie filling instead of buying canned preserves. they were consumed along with some dulce de leche. Que bueno!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2009
These were good, altho I've never had anything to compare them to. I wish you could fit more filling into them without it seeping out (so you could taste it better) but they were still good. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by susan
Reviewed: May 5, 2009
Pretty good..I used Strawberry preserves. The dough seems a little bland but when you roll it around in the cinnamon & brown sugar it helps it out. Maybe next time I'll add some vanilla extract to the dough mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by susan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2009
These are very delicious cookies but I only give it 4 stars because it is very labor intensive. The cookies are very delicate and difficult to stack and transport. The dough is difficult to work with. My recommendation is to divide the dough in two discs before refrigeration. If the dough becomes too soft, you can pop it in the freezer for 5 min. I used apple pie filling. Tasty but a bit too reminicent of those prepackaged fruit pies. I will makes again but will fill with a homemade fruit chutney instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2009
These are excellent! Next time I'll double the dough mixture. I got (6) 4" empanadas, using a dough press set, worked great! I used peach preserves and raspberry, then rolled in cinnamon sugar, and they are TDF! I also rolled the dough out on parchment with plenty of flour, placed on parchment lined baking sheet, then set back in the fridge for about 20 minutes, then baked. So good, I can't wait to try other combinations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2009
Super easy to make and taste delicious! I used apple pie filling - YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2009
I love this recipe, although the ones with the fruit preserves were not my favorite. My best so far was one with Tastefully simple dutch apple topping, and one that I put in a dab of cream cheese with Craisins and raw almonds. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2009
So good--the crust is very tender and flaky. For fillings I used orange marmalade + diced apple, and berry jam + frozen blueberries. I doubled the recipe, used a water glass rim to cut circles, and ended up with only about 24--maybe I rolled too thick, but it tasted great. Dough is very soft and sticky to work with (though out of the fridge is hard as a rock, so I had to wait almost an hour for it to soften up), I ended up rolling out the dough between two pieces of wax paper. Definitely use parchment paper on the baking sheet as well for easy clean-up (jam does squirt out a bit).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2009
Finished product tasted good..but soooooo messy and difficult to make! The directions were simple, but my dough was sticky and hard to work with. They didn't look pretty, but tasted good. Going to search for a better recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Valerie D.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2009
Wow is all I can say. It must be the cream cheese in the dough that makes them so tasty. I used Trader Joe's rasberry jam for the filling. I will be making these often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meredith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 335) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Argentine Meat Empanadas

See how to make baked ground beef empanadas.

Homemade Flour Tortillas

See how easy it is to make your own homemade flour tortillas.

Corn Tortillas

See how to make authentic corn tortillas from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States