Empanadas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: May 4, 2009
These are very delicious cookies but I only give it 4 stars because it is very labor intensive. The cookies are very delicate and difficult to stack and transport. The dough is difficult to work with. My recommendation is to divide the dough in two discs before refrigeration. If the dough becomes too soft, you can pop it in the freezer for 5 min. I used apple pie filling. Tasty but a bit too reminicent of those prepackaged fruit pies. I will makes again but will fill with a homemade fruit chutney instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2009
These are excellent! Next time I'll double the dough mixture. I got (6) 4" empanadas, using a dough press set, worked great! I used peach preserves and raspberry, then rolled in cinnamon sugar, and they are TDF! I also rolled the dough out on parchment with plenty of flour, placed on parchment lined baking sheet, then set back in the fridge for about 20 minutes, then baked. So good, I can't wait to try other combinations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2009
Super easy to make and taste delicious! I used apple pie filling - YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2009
I love this recipe, although the ones with the fruit preserves were not my favorite. My best so far was one with Tastefully simple dutch apple topping, and one that I put in a dab of cream cheese with Craisins and raw almonds. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2009
So good--the crust is very tender and flaky. For fillings I used orange marmalade + diced apple, and berry jam + frozen blueberries. I doubled the recipe, used a water glass rim to cut circles, and ended up with only about 24--maybe I rolled too thick, but it tasted great. Dough is very soft and sticky to work with (though out of the fridge is hard as a rock, so I had to wait almost an hour for it to soften up), I ended up rolling out the dough between two pieces of wax paper. Definitely use parchment paper on the baking sheet as well for easy clean-up (jam does squirt out a bit).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2009
Finished product tasted good..but soooooo messy and difficult to make! The directions were simple, but my dough was sticky and hard to work with. They didn't look pretty, but tasted good. Going to search for a better recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Valerie D.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2009
Wow is all I can say. It must be the cream cheese in the dough that makes them so tasty. I used Trader Joe's rasberry jam for the filling. I will be making these often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meredith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2009
Fantastic! I'm not a big baker, but I tried these out. I let the dough chill overnight (appr. 18 hours of so) and formed them into balls and flattened them out by hand. I filled them with strawberries I had cooked on the stove with suger, and some fresh bananas. Cooked them for about 18 minutes then rolled them in cin. sugar. SOOO GOOD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2009
Maybe my expectations of this recipe were too high. I like that the dough was easy to put together and I wrapped my dough and chilled it in the freezer for about 2 1/2 hours cause I was determined to make these today. I divided the chilled dough with a knife and rolled out the pieces between parchment paper. I agree with the amount of preserves being too much but I just eyeballed it anyway. Unfortunately the dough sure got sticky quickly which lead to bad sealing of the pies and leakage of the filling while baking. I used raspberry preserves in mine and rolled in icing sugar. Unfortunately since the dough itself wasn't sweet I had to sprinkle extra sugar on top of the finished pastry - which made it taste much better. This is a recipe with good potential and I just might try it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roxanne J.R.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 1, 2009
Reading some of the reviews made me hesitant to try this recipe, but it turned out flawless! The only thing I noticed is that the quantity of preserves is almost twice more than you need. I didn't double the recipe. When I was ready to make the empanadas, I separated the dough into 12 small balls, and used my hands and thumbs to press and shape them. I didn't submit a photo, but you can't tell the difference between mine and some of these other gorgeous photos. Again, great recipe! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 332) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Argentine Meat Empanadas

See how to make baked ground beef empanadas.

Homemade Flour Tortillas

See how easy it is to make your own homemade flour tortillas.

Corn Tortillas

See how to make authentic corn tortillas from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States