Empanadas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: May 12, 2009
Not sure that I made it right. Didn't taste any better than Mc.Donald's apple pies but a lot more work. I made them with chopped up apple pie filling. I may try them again just to see if I may have made them wrong or if I can improve on them. They weren't bad, just not quite as awsome as I had anticipated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2009
Had a great time making them, some real bonding moments with my mom, and really enjoyed eating them. Thanks so much for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by eve's kitchen
Reviewed: May 8, 2009
OH MY. These are AMAZING! I used strawberry marmelade and fresh chopped strawberries, on top of that a little vanilla cream. I am SO making these again!! Gah! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eve's kitchen

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Washington, D.C., USA
Photo by classychica
Reviewed: May 8, 2009
JUST AMAZING!!! Instead of fruit preserve I boiled up a sweet potatoe smashed it with a lil heavy cream butter and cinnamon for a filling. I swear I was in Mexico visiting my favorite "panderia"(bake shop).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by classychica

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2009
These are fine but not memorable. I made them with jam and Nutella. The jam leaked out pretty badly, which I'm sure was my fault for not using chunkier preserves. The Nutella was okay but the empanadas made with it seemed too dry. My main problem with these is that it's kind of tedious to individually shape and fill each one. Of course, that's a problem with empanadas in general, not just this recipe. I won't make these regularly because they're not worth the work, but I might try them again, especially if I come up with a good filling idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2009
spectacular, i made a berry pie filling instead of buying canned preserves. they were consumed along with some dulce de leche. Que bueno!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2009
These were good, altho I've never had anything to compare them to. I wish you could fit more filling into them without it seeping out (so you could taste it better) but they were still good. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by susan
Reviewed: May 5, 2009
Pretty good..I used Strawberry preserves. The dough seems a little bland but when you roll it around in the cinnamon & brown sugar it helps it out. Maybe next time I'll add some vanilla extract to the dough mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by susan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2009
These are very delicious cookies but I only give it 4 stars because it is very labor intensive. The cookies are very delicate and difficult to stack and transport. The dough is difficult to work with. My recommendation is to divide the dough in two discs before refrigeration. If the dough becomes too soft, you can pop it in the freezer for 5 min. I used apple pie filling. Tasty but a bit too reminicent of those prepackaged fruit pies. I will makes again but will fill with a homemade fruit chutney instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2009
These are excellent! Next time I'll double the dough mixture. I got (6) 4" empanadas, using a dough press set, worked great! I used peach preserves and raspberry, then rolled in cinnamon sugar, and they are TDF! I also rolled the dough out on parchment with plenty of flour, placed on parchment lined baking sheet, then set back in the fridge for about 20 minutes, then baked. So good, I can't wait to try other combinations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 330) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Argentine Meat Empanadas

See how to make baked ground beef empanadas.

Homemade Flour Tortillas

See how easy it is to make your own homemade flour tortillas.

Albondigas

This classic Mexican meatball soup is surprisingly simple to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States