Empanadas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: May 21, 2009
I used the All Day Apple Butter from this site as a filling and then coated them with cinnamon and sugar to make an unbelievable dessert. These were gone almost instantly. I took some into work along with a whole bunch of other things I baked and these were the first to go.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JJ

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2009
Phenomenal. Big hit with my friends and family. Will be on the regular list of unique treats.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Medford, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2009
This is a twist on Tassie cookies. I would press them in mini muffin tins next time and make it simpler.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lilcat

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: West Concord, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: May 14, 2009
wonderful empanadas , i agree with some people about the dough not very workable.. all you have to do i sprinkle some flour..and problem solved. i filled them with some homemade strawberry preserve... the crust is flaky and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2009
Good taste, not too sweet. I used lemon filling, and dusted with powdered sugar. The dough was prepared exactly as directed, but was extremely difficult to work with. I had to shape them completely by hand. Not pretty, but tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2009
Not sure that I made it right. Didn't taste any better than Mc.Donald's apple pies but a lot more work. I made them with chopped up apple pie filling. I may try them again just to see if I may have made them wrong or if I can improve on them. They weren't bad, just not quite as awsome as I had anticipated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2009
Had a great time making them, some real bonding moments with my mom, and really enjoyed eating them. Thanks so much for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by eve's kitchen
Reviewed: May 8, 2009
OH MY. These are AMAZING! I used strawberry marmelade and fresh chopped strawberries, on top of that a little vanilla cream. I am SO making these again!! Gah! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eve's kitchen

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Washington, D.C., USA
Photo by classychica
Reviewed: May 8, 2009
JUST AMAZING!!! Instead of fruit preserve I boiled up a sweet potatoe smashed it with a lil heavy cream butter and cinnamon for a filling. I swear I was in Mexico visiting my favorite "panderia"(bake shop).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by classychica

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2009
These are fine but not memorable. I made them with jam and Nutella. The jam leaked out pretty badly, which I'm sure was my fault for not using chunkier preserves. The Nutella was okay but the empanadas made with it seemed too dry. My main problem with these is that it's kind of tedious to individually shape and fill each one. Of course, that's a problem with empanadas in general, not just this recipe. I won't make these regularly because they're not worth the work, but I might try them again, especially if I come up with a good filling idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 335) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Argentine Meat Empanadas

See how to make baked ground beef empanadas.

Homemade Flour Tortillas

See how easy it is to make your own homemade flour tortillas.

Corn Tortillas

See how to make authentic corn tortillas from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States