Empanadas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2009
They were good. No doubt it needed more flour. Still good, thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carmelita

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2009
The breading was sooo good! I did the apple filling from a can and they wher and it came out great! Can't wait to bake some for Christmas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mamagideon

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2009
The smell is better than any candle you will ever buy! I made cream cheese pumpkin empanadas. My tortilla press broke but found that parchment paper worked great with a cool dough and I used my kids Play-Dough cutter for a pretty scalloped edge.....delicious! *BIG TIP: snip an "X" shape in the top of your empanada with scissors right before you pop it into the oven to keep the filling from splatting out of the seams.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by freckles

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ONIOND
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2009
Pretty good, the dough was easy to work with and came out nice and flaky. Was a bit messy afterwards only because a lot of my filling leaked out during baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ONIOND

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2009
So there is no such thing as a 3oz package of cream cheese. I used 8oz package of cream cheese, 2 cups or gradually added sifted flour and 1/4cup more of softened butter and they came out perfect. Right out of the oven I tossed them in sugar/cinnamon mixture. I used a drinking cup to cut the rounds and it made about 24. The crust is delicious. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2009
These were perfect!!! I made one with apple filling and rolled in sugar/cinnamon and the other with banana/nutella and rolled in powdered sugar! A party hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2009
These will make a great addition to my recipe box. These were so easy and didn't take long at all. I had left over pulled pork and just added the spices called for, put it in the oven for about 20 minutes and I was good to go. I found the dough to be a little dry. I used Crisco instead of lard and that could account for it. Served with Salsa and sour cream it made a nice change of pace. I will definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Whittier, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2009
Deeeeelicious! The dough is excellent and could be filled many different ways. Here's what I did after reading other reviews: divide dough in 2 smaller balls before chilling overnight. Only take one out at a time (you have a fairly narrow window between too hard and too sticky to work with). If you don't like wrestling with the rolling pin you can do what I did - roll into 1 inch ball and use the bottom on a cup or small plate to flatten. them. SO easy! I filled some with chopped up apple pie filling with cinnamon and the other with canned pumpkin with pumpkin pie spice and brown sugar. Both were outstanding for a fall season treat. Be sure to roll them in the cinnamon sugar right away - before they cool! They are best served warm. Great recipe! Thanks for posting it Rosina!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by junglepilotwife

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chandler, Arizona, USA
Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
These were so tastey- made just as the author suggested. My family could not get enough. They did not even last 24 hours!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Jennifer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Riverside, California, USA
Living In: Calico Rock, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
Made these with an apple filling and strawberry filling for a bake sale. Everyone enjoyed them. The apple reminded me of McDonald's apple pie. The dough did get a but difficult to handle at times. I had to use alot of flour and powdered sugar to keep them from getting sticky.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 338) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Argentine Meat Empanadas

See how to make baked ground beef empanadas.

Homemade Flour Tortillas

See how easy it is to make your own homemade flour tortillas.

Corn Tortillas

See how to make authentic corn tortillas from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States