Empanadas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
These were so tastey- made just as the author suggested. My family could not get enough. They did not even last 24 hours!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Jennifer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Riverside, California, USA
Living In: Calico Rock, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
Made these with an apple filling and strawberry filling for a bake sale. Everyone enjoyed them. The apple reminded me of McDonald's apple pie. The dough did get a but difficult to handle at times. I had to use alot of flour and powdered sugar to keep them from getting sticky.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2009
These were delicious though I had a bit of a hard time keeping the jelly inside the dough when I was forming them but they still turned out great!!! 5 stars!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2009
Always a hit whenever I've made them. People especially love the crust - so what I do with the extra dough is turn them into little 'fingerprint' cookies. After all of my empanadas have been cut out, I make little round cookies with the remaining dough, press them down flat, stick my thumb into the centers to make a little well for whatever fruit filling I'm using - then cook just a little bit shorter than the actual empanadas. I also dust some of the sugar mixture once cooked - so yummy and no wasted dough to boot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2009
I don't think I made these correctly :( The shell was too thick and could have been sweeter. I may try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2009
I made the pastry per the recipe the night before assembling in the morning.Rather than preserves, I used my own canned spiced peaches, about 1 1/2 slices per empanada. I also did not fold them over, rather, using 2 1/2" biscuit cutter and pressed a top round to a bottom round. The pastry is light and durable for preserves or sliced fruit. My oven baked them in 18 mins. Pretty dessert bites to compliment my Paella dinner for guests tonight. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy Myers

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Crestline, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2009
These are really good. I filled them with canned apple pie filling which I jazzed up with cinnamon and nutmeg. They tasted like the apple pies from McDonald's but much better! Took them to a party and they were gone immediately!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Eden, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2009
These were very good! I don't think I'll be making them often, as I normally don't like to spend a lot of time cutting dough, and the task of filling. I accidently threw in the whole bar of cream cheese, so I ended up doubling the recipe. I filled mine with cherry pie filling and apple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MISSMOON

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Danbury, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Suffield, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2009
I found this dough difficult to work with. I used cherry preserves, and had much of it melt out of the pastry, even though I was careful (or so I thought) to seal them well. End product was tender and flaky. I think I would have preferred a savory filling, or a dough with a touch of sweetness with the preserves. I think this is one I will continue tweaking until I'm happy with it. I've had empanadas, both sweet and savory, but only a few times from restaurants. I thought those were fried.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burlington, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2009
People could not stop raving about these. Wonderful! We tried all sorts of varieties, but the jam/jelly varieties were the best. Good luck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda B.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bountiful, Utah, USA

Displaying results 101-110 (of 330) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Argentine Meat Empanadas

See how to make baked ground beef empanadas.

Homemade Flour Tortillas

See how easy it is to make your own homemade flour tortillas.

Albondigas

This classic Mexican meatball soup is surprisingly simple to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States