Empanadas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2014
Good recipe. The only thing I think would make the recipe easier would be to toss the empanadas in cinnamon and sugar before baking because it doesn't want to stick very well to the cooked dough, and I like them COATED! For filling I cooked down some finely chopped apples with some sugar, cinnamon and a teeny sprinkle of nutmeg and clove. I also made a caramel sauce to dip them in. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2014
Amazing recipie the dough is best to work with if cold.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Mckinney, Texas, USA
Living In: Oviedo, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
The dough turned out too thick and gooey. But the turnout was still delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Living In: Canton, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2013
Nice flaky crust. I made the fruit preserves and also mexican empandas. Really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2013
Just made these for the kiddos. I rolled the dough out inbetween 2 sheets of waxed paper without any difficulty. I used the Pampered Chef sandwich sealer and baked them on my silpat. They literally slipped right off the mat and the mat wiped clean without any effort. Because 3 oz. packages of cream cheese do not exist, I read many reviews before making these to see what others did. In the end I used the entire 8 oz. brick of cream cheese, 1/4 cup of butter and 2 cups of flour. I think the dough could use some flavoring, maybe cinnamon. I found the dough tasteless and the kids did not like them either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2013
Yum! I refrigerated the dough overnight, so it was very hard when I took it out, but once it sat on the counter for about 30 minutes, it rolled out very easily. I would like the dough to be a bit sweeter, but with the cinnamon/sugar it was fine. I made 3 different kind using canned apple pie filling, canned strawberry pie filling and chocolate chips. I liked the apple best, but my kids liked the chocolate. I will be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2013
Very good and easy to make. Everyone at work loved them, they did not last long at the party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2013
Very good... thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2013
Wow! It is a mystery to me how a pastry dough with so few ingredients could be so wonderful. I am in love with this dough and will probably use it for a lot of things, including pies, in the future. It came out wonderfully delicate and almost melts in your mouth. I made these empanadas with cherry and apple pie filling. The cherry ones were good, but the apple ones were AMAZING! I simply chopped the cherries and apples up into smaller chunks, and made the empanada rounds a bit bigger than the recipe called for so I could squeeze more pie filling in there! I found it a bit hard to roll the bigger empanadas in the cinnamon sugar, so for the second batch, I simply coated a spare cookie sheet with a dusting of cinnamon sugar and when the empanadas were done, I transferred them to the coated sheet and then sprinkled the tops with cinnamon sugar as well. These were a HUGE hit at my Super Bowl Fiesta and I will be making them again in the near future. *Tip - I found that the cherry pie filling oozed out of the seams on the first batch. For the second batch, I wetted the outside edge of the bottom, crimped the two edges together with the tines of a fork, then rolled the edges (much like you do for a pie crust) then crimped them again with the fork. I then pierced the tops with the fork to let steam escape. May seem like overkill, but the cherry pie filling did not leak at all after using this method.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deeta Jean

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Harrisonville, Missouri, USA
Living In: Merriam, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2013
This recipe is wonderful! This is the first time I made Empanadas and they were a huge hit! I followed the recipe exactly as it stands here. I filled mine with apricot preserves, strawberry preserves, a homemade apple filling, and blackberry jam. The jam leaked out, the others did not. This is definitely one I will be making again. I used a 3 inch rim drinking glass as my "cutter" it was a perfect size. Just make sure to pinch your edges together and do not over-fill. These are awesome. Will be adding these to my recipe box! ENJOY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Willoughby, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 324) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Argentine Meat Empanadas

See how to make baked ground beef empanadas.

Homemade Flour Tortillas

See how easy it is to make your own homemade flour tortillas.

Albondigas

This classic Mexican meatball soup is surprisingly simple to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States