Empanadas de Pina (Pineapple Pastry Cookies) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2012
I did it but didn't come out with a lot of layers and it was very hard to put together even when I didn't put the sugar with the flour. Could you tell me why?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
These did not turn out good and were a lot of work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2010
I haven't made these yet but I will try them. I think some of the reviewers were confused about the sugar. The sugar should NOT be incorporated with the dough mixture; it is only for garnishing when the cookies are done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Aliquippa, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Angelica Salinas
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2009
This is a very good recipe. It has definitely a cream cheese taste. I had to add approximately a cup of flour more because, like someone else mention it was too soft to roll. I also used one cup of sugar instead of three, maybe this is why the dough was difficult to work with. I also put some flour on the surface where I was rolling the dough and it was more manageable. Using real (unsalted) butter would definitively make a difference and if you carefully put them in the (real) cinnamon and sugar mixture right after they come out of the oven the sugar will stick easier to the empanadas. Use a spatula because they are very hot. I recommend using cookie cutters to make different shapes. You would have to make two of the same shape so that you can cover them after you put the preserve. I used hearts and teapot shapes because they were easier to close after putting the preserve. Make sure that you close them tightly using your fingers and smooth out the edges. If you make the pineapple preserve yourself they would be absolutely delicious. To prepare that cut out a fresh pineapple (without the centers) into very small pieces, add about a cup of sugar (for a small) pineapple, cover and refrigerate overnight. The next day bring to a boil for only one minute (the pineapple will loose its color if you leave it longer). Let it cool and drain the excess juice. You can also use "cajeta" (caramel) as the filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angelica Salinas

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2009
I like the recipe. The only thing I had to do was keep an extra cup of flour handy to knead in dough to prevent it from being sticky and easier to manage and roll. But other than that it is very good and easy. It's a hit any time. I found that the sugar is used to roll the empanadas in after they are baked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2008
I've made this cookie several times and it never fails that at least one person will ask for the recipe. They are one of my daughter's favorite cookies. Thanks so much for posting this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2008
I really like this recipe!! It is very quick and easy to put together. Can the crust be too flakely??? I have tried it twice and they came out great. The second time I rolled them out a little thicker and cut them out with a biscuit cutter them rolled out each cut piece to a size easy to work with. Other fillings work well too such as mango. I did make some small changes. Instead of rolling in sugar after baked, I used a salt shaker filled with cinnamon and sugar to cover the finished product. I have also used a sifter to cover with powered sugar. Thanks for sharing a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wayne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Raymondville, Texas, USA
Living In: Belton, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2007
This is a very delicate pasty. I have used the same recipe in the past BUT did not add the sugar to the dough, instead try dredging the warm empanada in a mixture of granulated sugar and ground cinnamon. People will ask for the recipe, but keep it a secret and make it your unique christmas treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gina and the kidz!

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Manvel, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2007
My daughter found this recipe and we didn't figure out about the sugar until after our first batch. We also tried raspberry and peach preserves. They were delicious. The only change we made was instead of 15 min we baked for 17 min. We also brushed the edges with egg white.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2007
I LOVE this recipe!!! Someone gave me these cookies last Christmas without the recipe!! She wouldn't hurry up and get back to me with it, and I was so excited when I found this one! They are so super-simple easy to make. I make them almost daily during the holidays. Also good with strawberry. Just remember that the white sugar is actually powdered sugar. Happy baking!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Triple Chocolate Chip Cookies

Make chocolate chip cookies without an electric mixer.

Best Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to bake the perfect chocolate chip cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States