Empanadas I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 5, 2013
The dough was easy and when rolled thin, very nice. Eyed the liquid portion though, to get a nice looking smooth dough. Found that 350F too low for my liking, upped it to 425F and it worked out great! Filled with ham and cheese for a quick lunch. Way under 1.5hrs. Maybe half an hour from start to finish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
These were delicious, I made the savory ones with chicken and a mushroom sauce. It was my first time making pastry and i was impressed! The pastry came out like Jamaican patties. I used twice the dough ingredients and will use the rest to make pineapple empanadas tonight. Thanks for the wonderful recipe! Natasha
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2012
Inedible dough, tastes like shortening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2012
these were flaky and would make an excellent pie crust which is what this tasted like. I live in Ecuador and these are not anything close to our empanadas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2011
I tried this recipe prior to returning to college for a meal I could make once and last for a few days. It wasn't the best empanada I ever had, but they weren't half bad. I made the meat filling, and I would suggest that you make the dough after the tomato mixture is simmering. My only note is to be aware of the size you cut your dough. The larger they are, the more meat they carry and less doughy they are. The size makes the difference between a snack and a meal. None the less, they are quite filling!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eddy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2011
The pastry was EXCELLENT! Loved it. I made up my own filling though. Still, excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rene9109

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2011
GREAT LOVED IT
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
I will not be making these again.. I made the dough recipe to the T and it reminded my fiance and I too much of pie crust. I figured baking them would be healthier than frying them but next time I'll take in the extra calories and fry them like empanadas should be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kendall Park, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Belford, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
Not impressed. I would repeat this only for a sweet filling, but would look for another one before.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by YumLover

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Veracruz, Veracruz, Mexico

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
This crust was delicious. I made my own filling, but crust...divine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Deridder, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Argentine Meat Empanadas

See how to make baked ground beef empanadas.

Charley's Slow Cooker Mexican Style Meat

See how to turn chuck roast into a spicy, tender meat filling for tacos.

Grilled Spanish Mustard Steak

Spanish ingredients make a delicious marinade for grilled steak.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States