Empanadas (Beef Turnovers) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2010
I have always wondered how to make empanadas and this recipe breaks it down for me, I can't wait to try it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DerTimelessRose

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
Fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Clifton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2011
Excellent. I used the biscuit dough that comes in the cylinders in the dairy section (next to the cheese and butter) because I wanted flaky empanadas. I baked them and they tasted soooo delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Illegally Downloading Food

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Westphalia, Michigan, USA
Photo by LatinaCook
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2010
In case someone is overwhelmed with the Goya products list in this recipe, it is perfectly fine to use ANY olive oil, ANY tomato sauce, ANY spanish olives, fresh garlic, dried oregano, etc. The only Goya products you would probably need are the Sazon, the sofrito (unless you make your own, there's a good recipe for it here) and the discos (which is the premade dough that comes ready, frozen in round shape and in packs of 10). Yes, you can make your own dough but I like Goya discos, they are good, convenient and cheap. I added some adobo Goya (not the chipotle sauce but the powdered adobo which is a blend of spices like garlic powder, salt, cumin, etc) because I found the picadillo a tad bland. To make these appetizer size I cut each round of dough in two semicircles, filled, folded and sealed edges with a fork. You can freeze these before frying, then fry when needed without having to thaw it. My son loves them filled with pizza sauce, mozarella cheese and pepperoni. We call them "empanadillas de pizza", or "pastelillos de pizza". You can fill them with just cheddar cheese, or with guava paste, cooked shredded chicken... well, whatever you are into. Just make sure you don't burn yourself, the filling is very hot and if you don't seal them right they might leak on you and OUCH!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
151 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LatinaCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jardines Del Caribe, Ponce, Puerto Rico
Reviewed: May 1, 2011
Very good, my entire family loved it. if the oil is hot enough it does not take a very long time for the empanadas to brown, maybe 2 min
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2011
Wow, just like mom's! These really are fabulous. If made true to the recipe, they are wonderful. My mother always added a couple of small dashes of cinnamon, yes, cinnamon, to the picadillo (which I, of course, had to do), and it makes such a lovely addition. Either way, though I do recommend trying a dash or two of cinnamon, these are a winner!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
This recipe is on point. I'm not one to measure ingredients, I normally eye-ball it, but this recipe is easy and delicious!!!!! The time consuming part is letting the pastry dough completely thaw out. One thing I would add is to add some cheese (cheddar or mozzarella) then your adding the beef to the center of the empanada. It gives it just the right amount of umpf'! lol ... Oh yeah, If you don't have oregeno, using regular bottle of italian seasoning works just as well.... Happy eating and thanks for posting this recipe on here... I LOVE IT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2011
So easy, and delicious!!! Can't wait to make thee again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LuvMyMunchkins

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Essex, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2011
Everyone loved these, disappeared fast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Crockett, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christina
Reviewed: May 5, 2011
I wish I could give these more stars, because I absolutely would! I have never made anything like this before, but it intrigued me, so I took a chance and gave it a try...I am so glad that I did (and so is hubby and the little guy, lol). These were absolutely FANTASTIC and so simple to make! The only Goya products I used were the Discos (I could only find the achiote ones, which I was unsure of, but they were great), the Sofrito and the Sazon. I fried these up in my deep fryer, and they cooked up perfectly. I really cannot believe how good these were and how big of a hit they were with my family. I got 8, and I froze the leftovers (already cooked) for another time, so we'll see how that goes. I will definately make these again, anytime~YUM! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Argentine Meat Empanadas

See how to make baked ground beef empanadas.

Spicy Orange Zest Beef

See how to make a healthier version of orange beef.

How to Make Classic Beef Stroganoff

Watch Chef John prepare his secret recipe for creamy beef stroganoff.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States