Empanadas (Beef Turnovers) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by LatinaCook
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2010
In case someone is overwhelmed with the Goya products list in this recipe, it is perfectly fine to use ANY olive oil, ANY tomato sauce, ANY spanish olives, fresh garlic, dried oregano, etc. The only Goya products you would probably need are the Sazon, the sofrito (unless you make your own, there's a good recipe for it here) and the discos (which is the premade dough that comes ready, frozen in round shape and in packs of 10). Yes, you can make your own dough but I like Goya discos, they are good, convenient and cheap. I added some adobo Goya (not the chipotle sauce but the powdered adobo which is a blend of spices like garlic powder, salt, cumin, etc) because I found the picadillo a tad bland. To make these appetizer size I cut each round of dough in two semicircles, filled, folded and sealed edges with a fork. You can freeze these before frying, then fry when needed without having to thaw it. My son loves them filled with pizza sauce, mozarella cheese and pepperoni. We call them "empanadillas de pizza", or "pastelillos de pizza". You can fill them with just cheddar cheese, or with guava paste, cooked shredded chicken... well, whatever you are into. Just make sure you don't burn yourself, the filling is very hot and if you don't seal them right they might leak on you and OUCH!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
162 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LatinaCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jardines Del Caribe, Ponce, Puerto Rico
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2011
Excellent. I used the biscuit dough that comes in the cylinders in the dairy section (next to the cheese and butter) because I wanted flaky empanadas. I baked them and they tasted soooo delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Illegally Downloading Food

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Westphalia, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2012
OMG ... my new favorite! Out of necessity (not rebellion), I had to change a couple things. First of all, I double the recipe because I have a big family. Next, I only had ground turkey meat (20 oz) so I used that instead of the ground beef. Next I couldn't find the Goya Discos to save my life so I finally settled for pie crust sheets. So because of that I baked these at 425 degrees F for about 20-30 minutes. The whole batch made 20 medium turnorvers. I served these with the Mango Salsa (also on this site) and my family went nuts over these and dovoured almost the whole batch. I kept eating the filling ... so savory and flavorful. I did season the meat with garlic salt and pepper and also added a bit more sofrito, but other than that I followed the measurements (doubling of course) and this recipe is a keeper. Thanks so much for this. My mom was Puerto Rican from Hawaii and she used to make these all the time but she died with the recipe. It brought back great memories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa4Dennis

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Carson, California, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2011
Wow, just like mom's! These really are fabulous. If made true to the recipe, they are wonderful. My mother always added a couple of small dashes of cinnamon, yes, cinnamon, to the picadillo (which I, of course, had to do), and it makes such a lovely addition. Either way, though I do recommend trying a dash or two of cinnamon, these are a winner!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
Fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Clifton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
This recipe is on point. I'm not one to measure ingredients, I normally eye-ball it, but this recipe is easy and delicious!!!!! The time consuming part is letting the pastry dough completely thaw out. One thing I would add is to add some cheese (cheddar or mozzarella) then your adding the beef to the center of the empanada. It gives it just the right amount of umpf'! lol ... Oh yeah, If you don't have oregeno, using regular bottle of italian seasoning works just as well.... Happy eating and thanks for posting this recipe on here... I LOVE IT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
Really great recipe. I thought it was missing a little heat so I added cayenne pepper and a few splashes of balsamic vinegar. I also used refrigerated pie crust with a 4-in cookie cutter. The crust was flaky and the filling was so delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2010
I have always wondered how to make empanadas and this recipe breaks it down for me, I can't wait to try it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DerTimelessRose

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
This was my first attempt at making empanadas, they turned out great. Loved this filling, and assembling was fun and easy, just don't be in a rush when you prepare this recipe! I baked these at 400* for 30 minutes, just a bit too crunchy, I'll lower the heat to 375* next time and bake only 25 minutes. Thanks for sharing your recipe, Goya! Love your products and your recipes are always spot-on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Saveur
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2011
Perfect recipe (with some spanish olive juice added to meat)! This recipe taste closest to my mothers'... I've been looking for something this familiar since I was 9 years old! That's 20+ years... Thank you for posting... My search is over... :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Argentine Meat Empanadas

See how to make baked ground beef empanadas.

Spicy Orange Zest Beef

See how to make a healthier version of orange beef.

How to Make Classic Beef Stroganoff

Watch Chef John prepare his secret recipe for creamy beef stroganoff.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States