Empanadas (Beef Turnovers) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2012
OMG ... my new favorite! Out of necessity (not rebellion), I had to change a couple things. First of all, I double the recipe because I have a big family. Next, I only had ground turkey meat (20 oz) so I used that instead of the ground beef. Next I couldn't find the Goya Discos to save my life so I finally settled for pie crust sheets. So because of that I baked these at 425 degrees F for about 20-30 minutes. The whole batch made 20 medium turnorvers. I served these with the Mango Salsa (also on this site) and my family went nuts over these and dovoured almost the whole batch. I kept eating the filling ... so savory and flavorful. I did season the meat with garlic salt and pepper and also added a bit more sofrito, but other than that I followed the measurements (doubling of course) and this recipe is a keeper. Thanks so much for this. My mom was Puerto Rican from Hawaii and she used to make these all the time but she died with the recipe. It brought back great memories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa4Dennis

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Carson, California, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2012
Made these last night and it was my first time to make empanadas. They turned out awesome!! I wouldn't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
This is an excellent recipe! My family loved them! I chose to make my own dough, since my grocery store did not carry the frozen Goya kind. That wasn't too hard at all, and there are many to choose from online. Fantastic recipe and highly recommended!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
Really great recipe. I thought it was missing a little heat so I added cayenne pepper and a few splashes of balsamic vinegar. I also used refrigerated pie crust with a 4-in cookie cutter. The crust was flaky and the filling was so delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
Now this is Empanada. Those fruity ones cannot compare to what Empanada is really supposed to be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Fair Play, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2011
My husband really enjoys this recipe. I made it as is, which is great, then upon my husbands request added peas and carrots instead of olives. We had them once like that at a Dominican place, and have never found them like that again. I go heavy on the sofrito. I make them and freeze them so they are always available for him to cook up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2011
Perfect recipe (with some spanish olive juice added to meat)! This recipe taste closest to my mothers'... I've been looking for something this familiar since I was 9 years old! That's 20+ years... Thank you for posting... My search is over... :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2011
Everyone loved these, disappeared fast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Crockett, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2011
I really enjoyed this recipe and so did my 4 1/2 year old and 15 month old. Thinking this is going to be new family favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2011
Perfect recipe! Just the way I make them!! Delicioso!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Argentine Meat Empanadas

See how to make baked ground beef empanadas.

Spicy Orange Zest Beef

See how to make a healthier version of orange beef.

How to Make Classic Beef Stroganoff

Watch Chef John prepare his secret recipe for creamy beef stroganoff.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States