Empanadas (Beef Turnovers) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by Paula T
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2013
I omitted the olives since I didn't want all the salt. I minced the onion really fine since I was feeding a couple of guys who will freak out if they see an onion! I couldn't help but add a little white cheese (I used monterey jack) If I make it again, I will add the olives and keep the onion in larger chunks for me because I think the texture would be better if prepared as the recipe is originally written. I loved the addition of the shredded cheese though. As for the Discos, I couldn't find them at the grocer so used regular pastry dough that I made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula T

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Irving, Texas, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2013
Pretty good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2013
These are always a hit when I make these for my husband! i do leave out the pimientos just by preference and sometimes when im n the mood ill make my own dough lol..but not to often these are Delicious! I will continue to make these
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missrochester

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2013
Why bother using olive oil when the hamburger creates enough oils to soften the onion? I don't add olives because we don't care for them but followed the directions exactly otherwise and it makes great empanadas. I also use lard for frying since it has the best flavor and doesnt burn as easily as corn or vegetable oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JMANNING

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2013
This was absolutely amazing!!! I would not change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2013
i used pie crust because i could not find the discos. I will definately not do that again!!! The filling was o.k. The next time i know what to tweak according to our taste. Good base recipe to start with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ronnie L

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2012
I absolutely LOVED this recipe. I made it for my grandmas bday dinner served it with some rice, and shredded cabbage.. with sour cream and cotija cheese and a salsa. I had to run back to the store to get more goya discs. I plan on making this for a potluck at work. AMAZING must try recipe. I didnt use the sofrito since they stores did have any in stock.. so i just chopped up some fresh tomatoes, cilantro and added it to the beef mixture. Great recipe. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Priscilla Udave

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
This was my first attempt at making empanadas, they turned out great. Loved this filling, and assembling was fun and easy, just don't be in a rush when you prepare this recipe! I baked these at 400* for 30 minutes, just a bit too crunchy, I'll lower the heat to 375* next time and bake only 25 minutes. Thanks for sharing your recipe, Goya! Love your products and your recipes are always spot-on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Saveur
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2012
Best empanadas by far! I love making these and everyone is happy whenever they come over and see them as an appetizer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2012
This five star rating is for the meat mixture. The frozen Goya discos, sadly, were not to be found in our area. I wanted to try the meat mixture first before ambitiously tackling the pastry aspect, so I used the meat mixture in enchiladas. The sofrito and sazon were also not to be found but was able to get them from Amazon with free shipping and I'm glad I did. Next time I'll tackle the pastry part with alternate helpful suggestions from other reviewers. Now I'm inspired to try other recipes using sazon and sofrito.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Argentine Meat Empanadas

See how to make baked ground beef empanadas.

Spicy Orange Zest Beef

See how to make a healthier version of orange beef.

How to Make Classic Beef Stroganoff

Watch Chef John prepare his secret recipe for creamy beef stroganoff.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States