Empanada Dough Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2010
I decreased the sugar to about a tbs. and ended up adding some more water to make the dough pliable. My empanadas turned out well. Make sure and roll your dough out well, so they aren't too thick. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
77 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TaraV1976

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greybull, Wyoming, USA
Living In: Casper, Wyoming, USA
Photo by Linda Farrell
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
We blend 1T butter with 6T shortening with 2 knives, then follow these directions. Our filling was a mixture of shredded chicken breasts, onions, hard boiled eggs, green olives, cumin, chili powder, chicken bouillon powder, bay leaf, paprika. Topped with sour cream and salsa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda Farrell

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Arnold, Missouri, USA
Photo by court84
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2010
Good texture, but much too sweet. Would be good for banana empanadas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by court84
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
I used 1 Tb and 1tsp sugar. Had to add a little extra water. Took a LONG time to make. Turned out very good. Needed less time to bake the empanada, maybe about 25 min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2010
Dough was too dry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ney

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2011
Good empanada dough to start with. I played around with the recipe and decreased the sugar to 1 tablespoon and added 6 tablespoons of shortening. It was still a little too dry for my liking. I like my empanadas soft and flaky.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2012
it sucked.. dry.. not not soft or bread like at all.. not going to try this again..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2011
To dry and hard to work with made the recipe as written but I wish I had read others suggestion I won't be making this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by paubina
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2014
This recipe doesn't use any butter INSIDE the recipe, so expecting a fluffy dough is naive. I knew it would be on the cracker type side because I didn't use any butter at all. I just rolled out the ball until I couldn't roll it out anymore and just cut out circles. Filled them up pretty packed of beef and crimped the edges with a fork, they fluffed up a bit but none of them exploded or had anything seep out. I used egg whites on the edges that I crimped with a fork, and egg yolk to brush on top for color. I read the other reviews and used 1tbsp of sugar and it was just right, not too sweet or anything. I liked how the dough tasted and its' consistency with the filling I used (ground beef, onions, garlic, tomato, oregano, and some flour). I will be making this again and I'll be making double this because it was only enough for like 10 empanadas :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Calexico, California, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2012
I made it thick and it was sweet and delicious. Could definitely eat it by itself :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by K.Eisner

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Homemade Pizza Dough

See how to make amazing pizza dough from scratch.

Bread Machine Pizza Dough

This pizza crust is light and crispy, just like your favorite pizzeria's.

Amazing Whole Wheat Pizza Crust

See how to make a healthy and delicious pizza crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States