Empanada Dough Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2014
Fairly simple dough to make if you know how to make dough in general. Really sweet and tasty with different fillings too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Destiny McPherson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by paubina
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2014
This recipe doesn't use any butter INSIDE the recipe, so expecting a fluffy dough is naive. I knew it would be on the cracker type side because I didn't use any butter at all. I just rolled out the ball until I couldn't roll it out anymore and just cut out circles. Filled them up pretty packed of beef and crimped the edges with a fork, they fluffed up a bit but none of them exploded or had anything seep out. I used egg whites on the edges that I crimped with a fork, and egg yolk to brush on top for color. I read the other reviews and used 1tbsp of sugar and it was just right, not too sweet or anything. I liked how the dough tasted and its' consistency with the filling I used (ground beef, onions, garlic, tomato, oregano, and some flour). I will be making this again and I'll be making double this because it was only enough for like 10 empanadas :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Calexico, California, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2014
I made the recipe and then read the reviews. I wish I had read the reviews first because I agree that there is too much sugar. If this dough was being used for dessert then I would leave the recipe alone but for a savory meal I will definitely cut the sugar way down! All in all the recipe was well received by kids and husband!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2014
It was very hard to work with, too sweet, and my empanadas ended up being dry with a cracker like texture. I will not be using this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2014
This dough is awful
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2014
too sweet
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2013
Took the advice from others and reduced the sugar slightly and added some shortening (about 3 tbsp) Made Canastitas Caprese (Open-faced Empanadas with Tomato, Basil and Mozzarella and it was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2013
The dough to have fun with. I filled them with Pepperoni and Mozzarella, mouth watering!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chickasha, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: May 23, 2012
I made it thick and it was sweet and delicious. Could definitely eat it by itself :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by K.Eisner

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2012
it sucked.. dry.. not not soft or bread like at all.. not going to try this again..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Homemade Pizza Dough

See how to make amazing pizza dough from scratch.

Bread Machine Pizza Dough

This pizza crust is light and crispy, just like your favorite pizzeria's.

Amazing Whole Wheat Pizza Crust

See how to make a healthy and delicious pizza crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States