Empanada Dough Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2010
I decreased the sugar to about a tbs. and ended up adding some more water to make the dough pliable. My empanadas turned out well. Make sure and roll your dough out well, so they aren't too thick. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
84 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TaraV1976

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greybull, Wyoming, USA
Living In: Casper, Wyoming, USA
Photo by Linda Farrell
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
We blend 1T butter with 6T shortening with 2 knives, then follow these directions. Our filling was a mixture of shredded chicken breasts, onions, hard boiled eggs, green olives, cumin, chili powder, chicken bouillon powder, bay leaf, paprika. Topped with sour cream and salsa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda Farrell

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Arnold, Missouri, USA
Photo by court84
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2010
Good texture, but much too sweet. Would be good for banana empanadas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by court84
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
I used 1 Tb and 1tsp sugar. Had to add a little extra water. Took a LONG time to make. Turned out very good. Needed less time to bake the empanada, maybe about 25 min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2010
Dough was too dry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ney

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2011
Good empanada dough to start with. I played around with the recipe and decreased the sugar to 1 tablespoon and added 6 tablespoons of shortening. It was still a little too dry for my liking. I like my empanadas soft and flaky.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2012
it sucked.. dry.. not not soft or bread like at all.. not going to try this again..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2011
To dry and hard to work with made the recipe as written but I wish I had read others suggestion I won't be making this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2015
This recipe is by far the best and has sent my mouth back to my younger days! I've tried over seven other recipes and was disappointment on the brink of giving up I stumbled across this one. I'm happy I didn't quit. Reduce sugar like other reviewers suggested. I used 3 tablespoons. It's not so sweet. Trust me it makes the dough yummy as heck! Also add 6 table spoons of butterflavored shortening to the flour mix. Cut it up in small parts until it is crumbly. Oh boy you won't be disappointed. The dough isn't dry and if you have a large family like mines you will be making these for after school snacks or even lunch for a few days! Thanks for sharing such an amazing recipe. Add full sugar if you are filling these with sweets. It's a must try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2015
I tweaked it a fair bit, so the rating is for my revised version. Reading the other reviews was very helpful. I reduced the sugar to 1 tablespoon to counter the complaint that the dough was too sweet. To counter the complaint that it was too dry I cut in about 6 tablespoons of lard and 2 of butter to the dry mixture. Then I mixed in the water and egg yolk. The dough needed to have a lot of flour added before it was workable. It baked into a light flaky crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Homemade Pizza Dough

See how to make amazing pizza dough from scratch.

Chef John's Spelt Pizza Dough

See how to make a gluten-free pizza crust!

Bread Machine Pizza Dough

This pizza crust is light and crispy, just like your favorite pizzeria's.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States