Empanada Dough Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2010
I decreased the sugar to about a tbs. and ended up adding some more water to make the dough pliable. My empanadas turned out well. Make sure and roll your dough out well, so they aren't too thick. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TaraV1976

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greybull, Wyoming, USA
Living In: Casper, Wyoming, USA
Photo by Linda Farrell
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
We blend 1T butter with 6T shortening with 2 knives, then follow these directions. Our filling was a mixture of shredded chicken breasts, onions, hard boiled eggs, green olives, cumin, chili powder, chicken bouillon powder, bay leaf, paprika. Topped with sour cream and salsa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda Farrell

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Arnold, Missouri, USA
Photo by court84
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2010
Good texture, but much too sweet. Would be good for banana empanadas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by court84
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
I used 1 Tb and 1tsp sugar. Had to add a little extra water. Took a LONG time to make. Turned out very good. Needed less time to bake the empanada, maybe about 25 min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2010
Dough was too dry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ney

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2011
Good empanada dough to start with. I played around with the recipe and decreased the sugar to 1 tablespoon and added 6 tablespoons of shortening. It was still a little too dry for my liking. I like my empanadas soft and flaky.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2012
it sucked.. dry.. not not soft or bread like at all.. not going to try this again..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2011
To dry and hard to work with made the recipe as written but I wish I had read others suggestion I won't be making this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2012
I made it thick and it was sweet and delicious. Could definitely eat it by itself :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by K.Eisner

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2014
It was very hard to work with, too sweet, and my empanadas ended up being dry with a cracker like texture. I will not be using this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Homemade Pizza Dough

See how to make amazing pizza dough from scratch.

Bread Machine Pizza Dough

This pizza crust is light and crispy, just like your favorite pizzeria's.

Amazing Whole Wheat Pizza Crust

See how to make a healthy and delicious pizza crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States