Empanada Dough Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2015
This recipe is by far the best and has sent my mouth back to my younger days! I've tried over seven other recipes and was disappointment on the brink of giving up I stumbled across this one. I'm happy I didn't quit. Reduce sugar like other reviewers suggested. I used 3 tablespoons. It's not so sweet. Trust me it makes the dough yummy as heck! Also add 6 table spoons of butterflavored shortening to the flour mix. Cut it up in small parts until it is crumbly. Oh boy you won't be disappointed. The dough isn't dry and if you have a large family like mines you will be making these for after school snacks or even lunch for a few days! Thanks for sharing such an amazing recipe. Add full sugar if you are filling these with sweets. It's a must try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2015
I tweaked it a fair bit, so the rating is for my revised version. Reading the other reviews was very helpful. I reduced the sugar to 1 tablespoon to counter the complaint that the dough was too sweet. To counter the complaint that it was too dry I cut in about 6 tablespoons of lard and 2 of butter to the dry mixture. Then I mixed in the water and egg yolk. The dough needed to have a lot of flour added before it was workable. It baked into a light flaky crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2015
Highly disappointed. The dough is so tough. We added more water but my boyfriends are are tired from rolling it. Lol.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2015
I did not care for this recipe. Dry, tough, hard to work with, and way too much sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2015
good recipe... but i give you another secret...with anchoves and escarole ...tipical italian....sicily...see the page www.italyisbetter.com
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2015
great :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2014
I was unable to use the photo tab to insert the beautiful looking empanadas I made with this easy recipe I used leftover turkey meat from the day after Thanksgiving chopped into small pieces I put oil in a pan with onion green pepper sauteed that with some Puerto Rican sofrito that I made sauteed it all with the turkey meat for a little bit put that into my empanadas and they were absolutely wonderful after 30 minutes in the oven
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2014
I really like this recipe. I stuffed mine with a mixture of chicken, 3 cheeses, onion, jalapenos, and spices. The sweetness mixed well with the other flavours. I fried mine because my husband prefers EVERYTHING fried. The texture was very good. I will defiantly use this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wendy Stroede

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2014
Fairly simple dough to make if you know how to make dough in general. Really sweet and tasty with different fillings too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Destiny McPherson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by paubina
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2014
I knew it would be on the cracker type side because I didn't use any butter at all. I just rolled out the ball until I couldn't roll it out anymore and just cut out circles. Filled them up pretty packed of beef and crimped the edges with a fork, they fluffed up a bit but none of them exploded or had anything seep out. I used egg whites on the edges that I crimped with a fork, and egg yolk to brush on top for color. I read the other reviews and used 1tbsp of sugar and it was just right, not too sweet or anything. I liked how the dough tasted and its' consistency with the filling I used (ground beef, onions, garlic, tomato, oregano, and some flour). I will be making this again and I'll be making double this because it was only enough for like 10 empanadas :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Calexico, California, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Homemade Pizza Dough

See how to make amazing pizza dough from scratch.

Bread Machine Pizza Dough

This pizza crust is light and crispy, just like your favorite pizzeria's.

Amazing Whole Wheat Pizza Crust

See how to make a healthy and delicious pizza crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States