Emma's Slow Cooker Clam Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2011
I followed the recipe exactly and it was soooo good. I will be making this alot in the future. Thanks for the recipe:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DORIS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New City, New York, USA
Living In: Walton, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
This recipe is WONDERFUL. Only changes I made were to suit me. I used a medium rutabaga inplace of the potatoes; I added a bottle of clam juice, fresh thyme and I added the clams after the soup was done so that they wouldn't be chewy. None of the changes actually had to be done. I believe this soup is excellent as it is. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2015
The photograph is misleading. It looks like New England clam chowder. It is actually Manhattan, being that one uses diced tomatoes. It is a delicious chowder but they should get a new picture of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2015
The picture is deceptive. You think you are going to make New England clam chowder (the creamy, buttery kind as shown in the picture) when in actuality, this was Manhattan clam chowder (almost like a vegetable soup). I agree that it needs more stock, but it's very tasty. Just let folks know what kind of chowder this is in the title of the recipe, change the picture, and the problem should be solved.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2010
This is another version of Manhattan clam chowder but very easy and tasty. I added 1/2 teaspoon of Old Bay seasoning in mine. I always add Old Bay for a little spice to my seafood recipes. I love clam chowder and love the Old England clam chowder but I am trying to eat healthier and this fits the ticket for my clam chowder fix. I used turkey bacon in mine but only for cutting calories and healthier for me. If you are not cutting calories, the regular bacon is great also. It is just a preference. This is such a nice easy recipe to throw together and come home to a house filled with aroma of clam chowder. Add a little french bread to compliment and dunk with and it is a great meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2011
This was actually pretty good. I was put off by the tomatoes and carrots in the recipe as I've never made clam chowder that way, but it was really tasty...I used fresh thyme from my garden. Thanks for submitting this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by witchywoman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Forks, Washington, USA
Living In: Woodland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2011
I agree with Stefanyh! The receipe needs more liquid to be a "chowder"! I added two cups of stock to the mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2015
This recipe is very misleading.. It shows a picture of creamy,delicious, New England clam chowder, but the chowder that results from the recipe given is clearly a Manhatten-style chowder. Not what I was looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2015
What's a chowder with NO MILK?? NO LIQUID AT ALL?? Epic fail.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2015
I think that 3 stalks of celery is WAY too much celery. Next time, I plan to use only 1 stalk, or maybe even cut the amount of celery down to 3 ribs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

New England Clam Chowder I

Here’s a hearty comfort-food classic to warm you up on cold winter days.

Slow Cooker Chicken Tortilla Soup

Make this tasty chicken tortilla soup in your slow cooker.

My Best Clam Chowder

See how to make a creamy, 5-star clam chowder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States