Emma's Belgian Waffles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Photo by Kathy Bajo-Moeller
Reviewed: May 9, 2010
My family love these waffles! Couple of things I do to make it easier is - mix in the whole eggs at start. I don't seperate the egg from the white. It is perfectly fine without beating the whites. I just use regular flour and then add 2.75 baking powder as an earlier reviewer suggested. Also, the longest I have waited before cooking is about 20 minutes with the least being 10 minutes. Either way the waffles are perfect! My boys love to top with fresh fruit and whip cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy Bajo-Moeller

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waialua, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2010
I substituted cornstarch for some flour... recommended by another review, I don't think I added enough, they were fluffy, and a little crunchy, I was going crunchy on the outside, light and fluffy on the inside. Be sure if you want that effect to add more than 1/2 cup of cornstarch (that's all I added).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2010
FINALLY! A good belgian waffle from an inexpensive (i.e. cheap) waffle iron. I made several modifications per previous reviewers recommendations (added 1/4 c cornstarch, extra 1/4 c milk, 2&3/4 tsp baking powder, and decreased salt), thus the 4 stars. The true trick (thanks to a previous reviewer) is NOT to spray with Pam if you have non-stick. I really think this helped to make it crisp on the outside and soft on the inside. Now, I think my cheap iron has uneven heating, so some parts were "doughy" while most parts were perfect. I will definitely keep this recipe on hand, as well as my cheap waffle iron.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2010
This recipe has spoiled us! I can honestly say I've never had better. We use it for making waffles and pancakes. I especially like that they are perfect with some fresh fruit, no syrup needed. I don't ever buy self-rising flour, so I just used the standard conversion with no problems. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2010
These were great! I used 1/4 cup cornstarch like another reviewer did and added an additional 1/4 cup of milk. I also froze a few and reheated them in the toaster and they were great! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by melody741

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2010
I've tried every waffle recipe on this site, this is the one that turns out the best. I took the advice of one cook and added corn starch and instead of stacking them, I placed them on my oven rack. They turned out perfect! I always add chocolate chips to a few of them, and they're the favorite treat around here!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JOYLISE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Plumas Lake, California, USA
Living In: Bonaire, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2010
Followed recipe exactly and was quite pleased with the outcome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
These turned out so great! I tried the yeast ones the first time I used my new waffle maker and they never blended but these were wonderful. I froze 4 of them and they reheated beautifully in the toaster. Thank you for this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
My 3 year old and 19 month old approve. I love waffles and unfortunately my mom is a great cook that does not meaure so I have been searching for a great waffle recipe. I found it. I did not wait the total 40 minutes because I was already getting "Mom, I'm hungry!" and they turned out great with a wonderful flavor and my kids ate like i had not feed them in days;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
these were pretty good, next time I'd probably up the sugar and vanilla
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hauppauge, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 203) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cinnamon Belgian Waffles

See how to make light, fluffy Belgian waffles with a cinnamon kick.

Belgian Waffles

Deep, fluffy yeast waffles with crispy edges and soft centers.

Classic Waffles

Wake up to a classic breakfast treat that's easy to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States