Emma's Belgian Waffles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2011
4.5 stars actually. I halved recipe and still got 4 waffles. I did like hottcoco81's review and added cornstarch to flour. I used 1 C flour and 1/8C cornstarch. I also used 1 tlbs of sugar while beating egg whites. Didn't have self rising flour so added 1-1/2 tsp baking powder to flour/cornstarch with 1/2 tsp salt. Didn't warm milk (added 1 tsp vinegar to it) just let it come to room temp. I also added fresh ground cinammon and nutmeg. Mine were light, crispy outside and REALLY good. I think adding a bit of cornstarch did the trick for outer crispyness. P.S. If you use baking powder (in leiu of using self-rising flour), and it's old - you won't get good results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CantHelpMyself

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2011
They were edible.. very chewy, and heavy. Not what you think of for a Belgium waffle. I followed the instructions exactly and they never rose, and therefor were very heavy in the middle. I would use a receipe with dry yeast instead..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2011
They were fine, but I like the Belgian Waffles recipe with yeast much better. They had a great texture and cooked beautifully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
I thought these waffles were wonderful along with everyone else who has had them. Do let them rest before cooking them. I think that makes them. Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Lake Forest Park, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2011
This was very good. I used regular flour and 2 1/2 teaspoon baking powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Bartlett, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2011
These were amazing. Best waffles I've ever made. I didn't even follow the steps in the right order cause I was rushing but they were still PERFECT!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda Marie Pack

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Idaho Falls, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
These waffles were great! I didin't have the correct flour, so I did as another reviewer suggested and added baking powder. It worked great!! I can't wait to try adding blueberries or other tasty things to this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
I simplified this recipe significantly. I mixed the whole eggs into the batter in the first step and skipped the egg white/40 minute wait period altogether. I added some extra water once the batter was made because it appeared to thick for the waffle iron. They turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
These were not good at all. I would suggest using store bought waffle mix or finding a differrent recipie. They tasted very bland and floury.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Unclery

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
Added 1/4 cornstarch as others have. Great, easy recipe. Will probably use again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hilo, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 200) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cinnamon Belgian Waffles

See how to make light, fluffy Belgian waffles with a cinnamon kick.

Belgian Waffles

Deep, fluffy yeast waffles with crispy edges and soft centers.

Classic Waffles

Wake up to a classic breakfast treat that's easy to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States