Emma's Belgian Waffles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2011
Excellent recipe that creates dense, rich waffles that reheat (toast) well days later. Other waffle recipes can taste very "eggy" but not this one. They are not quite sweet enough for my family, as written, but that is simple to adjust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2011
I was excited to give this a try because of all the great reviews. I found this to be very bland and not light or crispy. Followed the recipe to the letter. I think I'll stick with a yeast recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Post Falls, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2011
4.5 stars actually. I halved recipe and still got 4 waffles. I did like hottcoco81's review and added cornstarch to flour. I used 1 C flour and 1/8C cornstarch. I also used 1 tlbs of sugar while beating egg whites. Didn't have self rising flour so added 1-1/2 tsp baking powder to flour/cornstarch with 1/2 tsp salt. Didn't warm milk (added 1 tsp vinegar to it) just let it come to room temp. I also added fresh ground cinammon and nutmeg. Mine were light, crispy outside and REALLY good. I think adding a bit of cornstarch did the trick for outer crispyness. P.S. If you use baking powder (in leiu of using self-rising flour), and it's old - you won't get good results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CantHelpMyself

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2011
They were edible.. very chewy, and heavy. Not what you think of for a Belgium waffle. I followed the instructions exactly and they never rose, and therefor were very heavy in the middle. I would use a receipe with dry yeast instead..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2011
They were fine, but I like the Belgian Waffles recipe with yeast much better. They had a great texture and cooked beautifully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
I thought these waffles were wonderful along with everyone else who has had them. Do let them rest before cooking them. I think that makes them. Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Lake Forest Park, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2011
This was very good. I used regular flour and 2 1/2 teaspoon baking powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Bartlett, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2011
These were amazing. Best waffles I've ever made. I didn't even follow the steps in the right order cause I was rushing but they were still PERFECT!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda Marie Pack

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Idaho Falls, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
These waffles were great! I didin't have the correct flour, so I did as another reviewer suggested and added baking powder. It worked great!! I can't wait to try adding blueberries or other tasty things to this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
I simplified this recipe significantly. I mixed the whole eggs into the batter in the first step and skipped the egg white/40 minute wait period altogether. I added some extra water once the batter was made because it appeared to thick for the waffle iron. They turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 202) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cinnamon Belgian Waffles

See how to make light, fluffy Belgian waffles with a cinnamon kick.

Belgian Waffles

Deep, fluffy yeast waffles with crispy edges and soft centers.

Classic Waffles

Wake up to a classic breakfast treat that's easy to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States