Emily's Pickled Eggs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2009
I didn't try these but my husband and his friends love them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2009
Love these! I suspect the choice of pickling spice you use will make all the difference. I love Penzeys brand. I halved the recipe to try it. I needed to add more vinegar to cover the eggs, but otherwise kept to the recipe. It was almost a week before I tried one. SCORE! I think I'd like some heat to these and next time will add hot pepper flakes. These will be in my fridge most, if not all, of the time. Will be great in salads!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cjucoder

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2009
I've made these a couple times now, and they are great. I do have to increase the brine to cover the eggs. I also add a couple garlic cloves, a red chili pepper, and mustard and dill seeds (approx 1t each). I also substitute part of the white vinegar for rice vinegar. I find this adds a touch of sweetness. I usually marinate for at least a week. *For the person who's eggs turned brown - maybe you used balsamic vinegar? It isn't the same as white vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2009
I followed the recipe exactly. They tasted OK, nothing special.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2009
I made these and thought they were a little too sour for me, so I added 1/4 cup sugar and they were AWESOME! Taking a bunch on our camping trip, with and without the sugar to see what people like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lizpiz

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2009
This recipe is excellent I can not go without having a nice supply Thanx ;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2009
Good! Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nikkionwine

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2009
These are very, very good. I have tried to improve several different ways but keep coming back to this recipe. The only thing I do consistently now is add a few sliced jalapenos and some crushed red pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntsville, Alabama, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2009
Was a hit with my husband. He said they was even better than his brother's pickled eggs and suggested I give him the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2009
I hate to be the voice of dissent, but these did not work for me. I was certain this was a "sure thing" given the simple ingredients and instructions, and the fact that it's about the only recipe I've ever seen with all 5* reviews. I made these are Thursday, and I followed the measurements & instructions EXACTLY. By the end of the first day, the eggs were all a mottled brown color... very unappetizing. When I tried one tonight, it was awful. I've never made pickled eggs before, but when I buy them, they retain a bright white color. I am so disappointed that 1 dozen eggs were wasted. Given the spectacular results others have had, I would like to try again. *Update: Thanks for your feedback, the answer is no, I did not use balsamic vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
80 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alpine, California, USA
Living In: Oakland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Quick Pickled Eggs and Beets

This simple Southern snack is a cinch to prepare.

Pickled Eggs II

See how to make classic pickled eggs.

Di's Delicious Deluxe Deviled Eggs

See how to make zesty, creamy deviled eggs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States