Emily's Pickled Eggs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2014
I have made these numerous times , and am a new cook . But a pickled egg lover for years . Easy , and best of all GREAT . Thanks . Lyle
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Tillsonburg, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Delhi, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by J.C.
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2014
Did 5 dozen. Turned out great. Added some juice from pickled hot banana peppers plus a few peppers with the onions. Giving it a week to brew.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2014
I put garlic cloves in the bottom of the jar and didn't have any pickling spice on hand so I used a bay leaf and the whole peppercorns. Very tasty and loved the onions in there. Have passed the recipe on to several people who tasted them at work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2014
I haven't tried this exact recipe but it is pretty standard base of 2:1 vinegar to water ( or less water). I just wanted to share that pickled eggs which turn brown in white vinegar means they are old eggs. Fresh eggs don't do that. They are fine to eat, but just not actually "farm fresh".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2014
horrible. Threw them out
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2013
My boyfriend LOVES pickled eggs, and I was searching for a simple recipe so I could make these quickly and often for him. He adores these! The first time I made them, I followed the recipe here precisely, and he said they were nearly perfect. The next time, I cut the salt in half and he said they were spot on. Thank you for sharing this recipe Emily!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Victoria Comeau

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2013
This recipe was just what I was looking for. When I was a kid we used to visit my grandmother who lived in a tiny little town. There was a little country store and they had a big jar of pickled eggs on the counter. My grandma used to always get me one and they tasted exactly like this. For those who don't like the color, I will say that from what I remember the eggs were always an off white color so that is perfectly normal. I also love the taste of the cloves but maybe if you don't like it you can strain out the pickling spice before pouring the liquid over the eggs. I personally would not change a thing. The recipe is perfect just the way it is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2012
Easy to make and they taste fantastic! Im not a sweet pickle type guy but these grew on me VERY fast! I did add a sliced jalapeno pepper to it... Nice touch. Just enough kick to know its there but not so much that its "Hot". This recipe is a keeper for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Shelton, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2012
Great recipe but it must be doubled to make enough liquid! Has a kick, the longer they sit, naturally, the more they have real bite. Let them sit for at least 2 weeks before trying one, but they reach their full potential after at least 6 weeks of sitting in the fridge. Added slices of white onion in the jar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by subcultlady

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2012
Great recipe! The second time I made these I used 4 tablespoons of pickling spice and added 1 (sliced in half) jalapeno before sealing the jar just for a little added zip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Greg L.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: Belle Fourche, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Quick Pickled Eggs and Beets

This simple Southern snack is a cinch to prepare.

Pickled Eggs II

See how to make classic pickled eggs.

Di's Delicious Deluxe Deviled Eggs

See how to make zesty, creamy deviled eggs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States