Emily's Famous Tiramisu Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2003
I love this recipe! The homemade l;ady fingers are awsome and easy to make. I'll never use stale, packaged ladyfingers again. I made several modifications to this recipe. Fisrt of all, like one other reviewer, I found this recipe very sweet. I omitted sprinkling of powdered sugar on the lady fingers. I substituted coffe liquour and creme de cacoa for the rum, to give it more chocolate flavor which was one of the coments I recieved the first time I made it. Because they are very sweet, I reduced the sugar in the filling by about 1/4 cup. To give it more chocolate flavor I also sprinkled grated chocolate and powdered cocoa on top of both layers. The result was perfect. I also make this in a square pan, without the lady finger "sides" when I need to bring it to a function. Much easier to cut and serve, and still delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2004
I have made this tiramisu many times. Each time I received RAVE reviews (some people are still talking about the first one I did over 2 years ago). Anyhow...the only thing I change is that I use an equal amount of Irish Cream instead of rum as I personally do not like the flavor of the rum. Aside from that, this last time that I made it, I tried what one reviewer suggested, doubling the marscapone. I would NOT recommend it. The finished product was much firmer and easier to cut (more like that of a cheesecake), but the flavor was just totally off balance. I would recommend following the ORIGINAL recipe amounts exactly, as that is the way that I received the most amount of compliments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2005
This is tooo sweet. Please do the following: Only lightly dust the ladyfingers For the syrup only use ¼ cup sugar,1/2cup water, 1/4cup coffee and 2tbs rum For the filling only use 4ozs mascarpone 1/2c sugar 2tbs rum 1/2tsp vanilla 1cup heavy cream use only one ounce chocolate for the topping and dusting confectioner’s sugar at the end should be optional.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2006
My wife's Mother worked in an authentic Italian deli most of her life. My wife grew up enjoying the best Tiramisu by real Italian cooks. Being who I am I had to make a better Tiramisu to win her heart even more. I made this recipe and I have completely won her heart. I have made this with the ladyfinger recipe and with store bought. The homemade lady fingers taste so much better. The store bought will work in a pinch though. Thanks Emily!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2003
Oh my...!!! I opted out the rum and used cream cheese instead and this was still the best tasting and easiest Tiramisu I've ever made. Even my great cook mom says so. She really loves it and has asked me to make it again next week. The ladyfingers batter was easy to manage and didn't spread out like other recipes I've tried. I was afraid the cheese mixture wouldn't set, but it did. So I really had no problems. This recipe is definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hartini

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2009
Super recipe. To substitute mascarpone you can use cream cheese 16oz, 1/2c whipping cream, 5 Tbls sour cream. You need about 27-30" X 3" to wrap the cake. I make the long side using a cookie sheet lined with a 6" wide strip of parchment. I spread the cake batter 1/2" thick on the parchment and bake. I then use a sizzor and cut the strip in half then square up the ends. (You end up with 2 strips that when cut square on the ends is un-noticeable) I leave the parchment paper on and brush with coffee mixture and place in the spring form pan (parchment facing outwards) I use a 9" spring pan and make 8" rounds with parchment lined cake pans for the bottom and middle layers. The presentation is incredible. This way you can only see the sides when the pan is removed. I also used emrils coffee and filling recipe with 2 cups of whipping cream instead of one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by THOMJANICE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Spring Hill, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2008
This was my first time making this and I did not care of it too much. I followed the recipe to a T. The rum flavor was too much to handle for me. The heavy cream layer did have a nice texture and mine did not leak. Also, I didn't have enough batter for the outter circle of ladie finger. Although the lady fingers were yummy and I will use the recipe with a diff. filling recipe. I ended up buying ladyfingers for the circumfrance. If any of you live by a Polish deli I suggest the Polish ladyfingers as they are A LOT softer than the Italian ones. Look for a box that says "Biszkopty" on them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChicagoCookie84-Anita

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2003
Yum Yum! Wonderful Recipe. Tastes better the longer you let it sit in the fridge. The strong Rum taste went away after the second day. Will Make again. My Husband loved this. One thing I will do differently is soak the bottom layer a little more with the syrup. Mine was just a bit too bready still, while the midddle layer just melted away in your mouth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen Ayala Simmons
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2002
This recipe has WAY too much sugar in it. The ladyfingers were fine, but 3/4 cup of powdered sugar was too much; I could not even taste the marscapone cheese over the powdered sugar in the filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by brendenj
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2010
Wow! This was a group effort with the hubby and the 5 year old, but it totally paid off. I followed the recipe to a T (almost) used godiva liquer in the syrup, and made three rounds of lady fingers for the trifle dish (no sides) had to cut them a bit to fit in the bottom of the trifle (aka the bottom is smaller than the top that you trace ;-) Next would shave the chocolate on each layer and then just a little on top for decoration. The flavor was great, maybe a little strong on the liquor. The pieces themselves were great, but the soupy stuff on the bottom shouldn't be served. After the first scoop was taken we "drained" the trifle and the rest was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brendenj

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Woodbury, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 103) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Tiramisu II

Create a delicious, authentic tiramisu--rich and impressive.

Classic Tiramisu

Make rich, creamy tiramisu at home. Bella!

Tiramisu Layer Cake

This rich, coffee-flavored classic is surprisingly easy to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States