Emily's Famous Tiramisu Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2003
this is a great basic recipe. i have made other tiramisu using raw eggs and worried about eating it. this uses no eggs, but has a very authentic taste. i wouldn't try making the spring form pan assembly--but i made smaller lady fingers and used large wine goblets to make individual servings--they looked great when i served them to my guests. so easy to take out of the frig and set on the table! i added chopped semi sweet chocolate as a layer on top of the cheese filling and instead of rum, i used a combo of marsala wine, orange liquor and brandy. i had half of the recipe left over and tried freezing it--it worked--the presentation suffered, but it still tasted yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2003
I made this for my mom and my sister, and they absolutely LOVED it. Now I am notorious in my family for burning macaroni and cheese, so they were shocked that I was able to make something that tasted so amazing! I couldn't find the mascarpone cheese, so I substituted cream cheese, I used Bacardi light rum (never dark) in both parts and it wasn't overwhelming at all, and I made the 9" ladyfinger circles too thick, so I didn't have enough dough for the 3" sides, but it still turned out wonderful-- worth every bit of the time it took to make. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2003
This was good. The rum gave it kind of a funky flavour, but it wasn't bad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2003
Best tiramisu I've ever had! I made a few adjustment to make it a little more interesting. I added chocolate chunks in one of the layers and I baked the Ladyfingers in an 8x8 pan to make solid layers of ladyfingers. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2003
Excellent! Best I've ever had. I added a layer of chocolate shavings between the layers and it was as beautiful as is was luscious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2002
Incredible! Just don't take out of the fridge before its ready to serve. But its still wonderful slightly runny.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2002
This is excellent! Yes, time consuming, but who knew that you could make restaurant quality tiramisu in your own kitchen?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Topeka, Kansas, USA
Living In: Olsburg, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2002
Fantastic tiramisu. I added cocoa powder while drenching the lady fingers with the syrup; it gave it a heavenly chocolately flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2002
I have made this twice, and everyone who has tried it, loves it. I have to substitute cream cheese for marscapone, because I can't find it. Even though it tastes great, you can tell there is a little something missing because of the cheese swap. The best part of this recipe, is making my own lady fingers - i never new it would be this easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2002
This recipe has WAY too much sugar in it. The ladyfingers were fine, but 3/4 cup of powdered sugar was too much; I could not even taste the marscapone cheese over the powdered sugar in the filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 100) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Tiramisu II

Create a delicious, authentic tiramisu--rich and impressive.

Classic Tiramisu

Make rich, creamy tiramisu at home. Bella!

Tiramisu Layer Cake

This rich, coffee-flavored classic is surprisingly easy to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States