Emily's Famous Tiramisu Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2005
This is tooo sweet. Please do the following: Only lightly dust the ladyfingers For the syrup only use ¼ cup sugar,1/2cup water, 1/4cup coffee and 2tbs rum For the filling only use 4ozs mascarpone 1/2c sugar 2tbs rum 1/2tsp vanilla 1cup heavy cream use only one ounce chocolate for the topping and dusting confectioner’s sugar at the end should be optional.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Emily Powell
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2005
I would make it with less rum and more coffee. It was too sweet to stomach, I would probably put less sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily Powell

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Annandale, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2005
This was OK. I followed the recipe as written. Very "creamy" though. I felt that a previous recipe I'd made which used zabaglion (sp?)had more flavor. I probably won't make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2005
This is so yummy. Everybody loved it even though I used cream cheese and some sour cream in place of the mascarpone. This has earned a place in my permanant cookbook!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2005
A perfect tiramisu recipe !!! I made tiramisu for the first time with this recipe and it was the perfect tiramisu. It does taste better after being refrigerated about 2-3 days. Yummylicious !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KAVYA29

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2005
The ladyfingers were easy to make and turned out well. I used boxed lady fingers for the ones around the edge since they looked nicer than mine did, but the taste and texture of the homemade ones were better. I soaked the bottom layer as was suggested, and this turned out fine, although it did leak out the bottom of the springform pan a bit. I let it sit 2 days before serving, and this was fine. I thought the syrup was a bit too sweet and the ratio of cream to ladyfingers was a bit high. When I make it again, I will cut back on the sugar in the syrup to at least half and decrease the ratio of cream layer to ladyfinger layer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2005
This is a fabulous tiramisu recipe. Everyone who has tried it raves about it. The ladyfinger circles and strips are just genius. I always use Kahlua instead of rum, and I refrigerate at least 24 hours before serving. Super!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by allison125

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2004
I use boxed ladyfingers, and this is the one recipe that ALL my friends and family beg me to make over and over...in fact it's going to be the featured dessert at Thanksgiving this year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2004
I have made this tiramisu many times. Each time I received RAVE reviews (some people are still talking about the first one I did over 2 years ago). Anyhow...the only thing I change is that I use an equal amount of Irish Cream instead of rum as I personally do not like the flavor of the rum. Aside from that, this last time that I made it, I tried what one reviewer suggested, doubling the marscapone. I would NOT recommend it. The finished product was much firmer and easier to cut (more like that of a cheesecake), but the flavor was just totally off balance. I would recommend following the ORIGINAL recipe amounts exactly, as that is the way that I received the most amount of compliments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2004
After looking at several different recipes, I made this tiramisu for my boyfriend. I followed some of the suggestions, but would try a few differently next time. First, I only brushed on the syrup for the bottom layer of ladyfingers. Next time I will soak it. Also, soak the sides that are lined with the ladyfingers. Also, I doubled the cheese layer which was great! Secondly, I used only strong coffee in the syrup. Next time I am adding espresso to it to give it a stronger coffee flavor. Let it set in the fridge for 3 days...that is a definite. I also used dark rum which worked very well. In addition, I made my own ladyfingers from Roxanne's recipe and they turned out great. My boyfriend loved this tiramisu and now calls it "our special dessert."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 104) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Tiramisu II

Create a delicious, authentic tiramisu--rich and impressive.

Classic Tiramisu

Make rich, creamy tiramisu at home. Bella!

Tiramisu Layer Cake

This rich, coffee-flavored classic is surprisingly easy to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States